Retinol Room.

Retinol and Laser Hair Removal

The dermatologists' own preparation page sets no stop-before interval for a retinol — so neither do we. Here is what it does tell you to disclose, the one rule from the waxing guidance that genuinely carries over, and how to keep a ten-month retinoid programme running through a six-session laser course.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Here is the honest position, and it is not the one most pages take. The American Academy of Dermatology publishes a preparation page and an FAQ for laser hair removal. Between them they tell you what to disclose, what not to do beforehand, what the session feels like, how many you will need and what can go wrong. Neither mentions retinol or any topical retinoid at all, and neither sets a stop-before interval for one.

That matters because the same organisation does set an interval for waxing: avoid over-the-counter retinol and prescription retinoids for two to five days beforehand, to avoid removing skin along with the hair. So the silence on laser is not an oversight in a body of guidance that never mentions retinoids. It is a gap, and the right response to a gap is to say so rather than to fill it with a confident number.

What follows, then, is what the guidance actually says, plus the practical reasoning. The single most important instruction is also the simplest: follow what the person treating you tells you. Clinics set their own pre-treatment protocols, they are looking at your skin and their device, and a website is not in a position to overrule either.

What the AAD does tell you before a session

  • Disclose your products, not just your prescriptions.The preparation page asks you to tell the dermatologist if you have taken isotretinoin “or are taking any other medicine, including medicine that you buy without a prescription”. An over-the-counter retinol is exactly that. It also asks about a tendency to scar, a recent tan, keloids and cold sores.
  • Do not tan, outdoors or indoors— and do not use sunless tanners.
  • Use sunscreen daily: broad-spectrum, SPF 30 or higher, water-resistant.
  • Choose someone qualified.The FAQ is unusually blunt: laser hair removal “can be dangerous in inexperienced hands”, and burns, permanent changes to skin color and scars can occur.

The reasoning for a short pause, stated as reasoning

A retinoid changes the state of the skin surface. The published histology on prescription tretinoin describes epidermal hyperplasia and compaction of the stratum corneum, and in practice the adjustment weeks mean drier skin, sometimes flaking, occasionally pink and tender. The listed side effects of laser hair removal include redness, swelling and, more rarely, blistering and pigment change.

Nobody has published whether those two things add up. But if your skin is currently flaking, tender or pink from a retinoid, going into a treatment that reliably produces redness and swelling — on an area you then cannot treat for days — is a bad week to choose. That is a scheduling judgement rather than a safety finding, and we would rather label it as one: go in on calm skin. If you are mid-flake, move the appointment or pause the retinoid for a few days first and tell the clinic you have.

If you are restarting after a course

Two registry picks for the specific situation this page creates: coming back to a retinoid on skin that has had several weeks off, or starting one between courses. Both are fragrance-free, both are cheap enough to treat as a restart rather than a commitment, and prices are live and dated on each button. Neither is a product for use on freshly treated skin — that decision belongs to the person who treated you.

#1Best gentle restart

The Ordinary Retinol 0.2% in Squalane

The gentlest true-retinol starting point on the shelf: a stated 0.2% in the same cushioning squalane base. If you have never used a retinoid, this is where to begin before touching anything stronger.

Strengths

  • Stated 0.2% — a genuine beginner strength, plainly labeled
  • Squalane base softens the early dryness
  • About as cheap as effective retinol gets

Trade-offs

  • Too gentle to be anyone's long-term destination — you'll want to step up
  • Still pure retinol, so introduce it slowly regardless of the low number
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentration0.2%
FormatLightweight oil serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forSensitive, Beginner, Normal

Formulation note. 0.2% pure retinol in squalane — the entry rung of The Ordinary's three-strength ladder. Starting here and moving to 0.5% only once nightly use is comfortable is the textbook way to build tolerance.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best buffered everyday option

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Encapsulated retinol with ceramides and licorice root, aimed squarely at post-acne marks and texture rather than deep wrinkles. Gentle, barrier-friendly and cheap — but the strength is unstated, so set expectations by what it's for.

Strengths

  • Ceramides + niacinamide support the barrier while the retinol works
  • Encapsulated delivery is gentler on reactive skin
  • One of the least expensive 'real' retinol serums

Trade-offs

  • Concentration is not published
  • Marketed for marks, not deep wrinkles — set expectations accordingly
Key activeEncapsulated retinol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatFluid lotion-serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forAcne-prone, Normal, Sensitive

Formulation note. Encapsulated retinol + 3 essential ceramides + niacinamide + licorice root extract. The ceramide payload is why it stays tolerable; the retinol strength is not disclosed.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why the waxing interval does not simply transfer

It is tempting to apply the waxing rule to the laser, and we understand the instinct — but the mechanisms are not the same. Waxing works by adhesion: hot wax grips the hair andthe surface layer of skin, and a retinoid loosens that surface layer, which is precisely why the AAD’s own instruction exists. The published concern is physical — removing skin along with the hair.

A laser works by light absorbed in the pigment of the hair; the AAD describes it as removing hair by vaporizing it. Nothing is being pulled off the surface. So the adhesion argument does not apply, and there is no published equivalent finding for retinoids and laser hair removal to replace it with. We could invent a confident interval here. Plenty of pages do. We would rather tell you the evidence is absent and give you the reasoning instead.

The isotretinoin case is different again, and it is the one place to be genuinely careful: the AAD’s waxing guidance says never to wax within six months of taking isotretinoin, and its laser preparation page asks you to disclose having taken it. If that is you, this is a conversation with the clinician, not a question for a website.

Do not quit the retinoid for the whole course

This is the most consequential paragraph on the page. The AAD puts a typical course at two to six treatments, spaced every four to six weeks, with a 10% to 25% reduction in hair after the first session. At the long end that is six months of appointments.

Now put that against what a retinoid needs. The double-blind work on prescription tretinoin found improvement in photoaging peaking at around ten months of daily use, with no further gain between ten and twenty-two months. A retinoid is a ten-month commitment that works by consistency, and stopping it for weeks at a time around each appointment is how people spend a year using a retinol and get the result of three months.

So: pause briefly around a session if you or your clinician want to, and resume. Treat the retinoid as the continuous thing and the sessions as the interruptions, not the other way round. Our frequency guide is the right place to rebuild from if you have been stopping and starting for months.

And the two rules the AAD is explicit about

Both are about color rather than retinoids, and both are absolute in the guidance: do not tan, outdoors or indoors, and do not use sunless tanners. The second surprises people, but the mechanism makes sense once you know what a self-tan is — the FDA describes DHA as a color additive that darkens skin by reacting with amino acids in its surface, so a sunless tan adds pigment to the layer a laser is aiming past. We have a separate guide to retinol and self-tanner for the rest of that interaction.

Sunscreen is the other instruction: broad-spectrum, SPF 30 or higher, water-resistant, every day before going outdoors, both before the course and after each session. That is already a requirement of any retinoid routine, so for once the two sets of advice point the same way. Our sunscreen guide covers how much is actually enough.

General guidance, not medical advice. Retinol Room is written by an enthusiast, not a dermatologist. For a diagnosis, a reaction, or a prescription active like tretinoin, see a qualified professional. Introduce any new active slowly and patch-test first.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need to stop retinol before laser hair removal?

There is no published interval for it. The AAD's own laser hair removal preparation page names no topical retinoid and sets no stop-before period — unlike its waxing guidance, which explicitly says to avoid retinol and prescription retinoids for two to five days beforehand. What the preparation page does say is to tell your dermatologist about any medicine you are taking, including products bought without a prescription, which is where your retinol belongs. Follow whatever instruction the person treating you gives; they are the only one who can set it for your skin and their device.

Why does waxing have a retinoid rule but laser does not?

Because waxing works by adhesion. The wax grips the surface layer of skin as well as the hair, and a retinoid loosens that layer — which is why the AAD's concern is removing skin along with the hair. A laser works by light absorbed in the hair's pigment and, as the AAD puts it, removes hair by vaporizing it. Nothing is pulled off the surface, so the adhesion argument does not carry over. That is not a statement that retinoids are irrelevant to laser treatment — only that no published rule exists.

What should I tell the clinic?

Everything on the AAD's own disclosure list: a tendency to scar, a recent tan, any history of keloids, a tendency to cold sores or genital herpes, and any medicine you are taking, 'including medicine that you buy without a prescription'. Your retinol, any acids, and anything prescription sit under that last clause. If you have ever taken isotretinoin, say so — that one has a six-month rule in the AAD's waxing guidance and a specific question on the laser preparation page.

When can I use retinol again after a session?

After the treated skin has settled and your provider says so. The AAD describes redness and swelling after treatment that often looks like a mild sunburn, with the common side effects lasting one to three days, and its standing instruction is to follow the dermatologist's after-care. Applying an active to skin in that state is not a decision a website should make for you.

Can laser hair removal change my skin color?

It can, which is the main reason the AAD insists on an experienced practitioner. Its FAQ states that burns, permanent changes to skin color and scars can occur in inexperienced hands, and lists skin lightening or darkening among the rarer side effects — noting that color usually returns to normal but that some changes are permanent. That risk is the reason the no-tanning rules are not negotiable.

How many sessions will I need, and should I pause the retinoid for all of them?

The AAD puts it at two to six treatments, usually every four to six weeks, with a 10% to 25% hair reduction after the first. Do not stop a retinoid for that entire window. The published improvement from a retinoid peaks at about ten months of consistent use, so months of pausing is how a year of buying retinol produces three months of result. Pause briefly if advised, then resume.

Does retinol help with ingrown hairs or razor bumps between sessions?

It is a reasonable adjunct for the texture and the marks left behind rather than a treatment for the ingrown hair itself, and our acne and body pages are the honest place to start on that. What we will not do is claim a published result for retinol on ingrown hairs, because we have not found one to cite.

Sources

  • American Academy of Dermatology — Laser hair removal: Preparation — The AAD's own page on what to do before laser hair removal. Its disclosure list tells patients to tell the dermatologist about 'A tendency to scar', 'A recent tan', a history of keloids or cold sores, and whether they have 'Taken isotretinoin (a medicine used to treat severe acne) — or are taking any other medicine, including medicine that you buy without a prescription, such as aspirin' — the clause an over-the-counter retinol falls under. Its instruction list is 'Do not tan (outdoors and indoors)', 'Do not use sunless tanners', and 'Protect your skin by using sunscreen... broad-spectrum, SPF 30+, and water-resistant'. The page names NO topical retinoid and sets no stop-before interval for one, which is why this site does not state one either (accessed October 11, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Laser hair removal: FAQs — The AAD's own FAQ. It states that 'Laser hair removal can be dangerous in inexperienced hands. Burns, permanent changes to your skin color, and scars can occur', that a laser 'removes hair by vaporizing it', and that 'To avoid possible side effects, all patients need to protect their skin from the sun. After laser hair removal, you should: Avoid direct sunlight from hitting your treated skin. Not use a tanning bed, sun lamp, or any other indoor tanning equipment. Follow your dermatologist's after-care instructions.' Expected course: 'You can expect a 10% to 25% reduction in hair after the first treatment', 'most patients need 2 to 6 laser treatments', and 'Most patients can have laser hair removal once every 4 to 6 weeks'. The most common side effects — discomfort, swelling, redness — 'are minor and last 1 to 3 days'; rarer ones include blistering, cold-sore outbreaks, infection, scarring and 'Skin lightening or darkening'. The page makes no statement about retinol or any topical retinoid (accessed October 11, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Hair removal: How to wax — AAD advises avoiding over-the-counter retinol and prescription retinoids for two to five days before waxing the face, to avoid removing skin along with the hair, and never waxing within six months of isotretinoin (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Retinoid or retinol? — AAD on the difference between prescription retinoids and OTC retinol (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • Voorhees JJ — Clinical effects of long-term therapy with topical tretinoin and cellular mode of action (J Int Med Res, 1990) — Double-blind, placebo-controlled study: 0.1% topical tretinoin reduced the effects of photoageing maximally after 10 months, with no further improvement between 10 and 22 months. Histologically it induced 'epidermal hyperplasia, compaction of the stratum corneum and the deposition of ultrastructurally visible collagen fibrils in the papillary dermis', reduced the number and activity of melanocytes, and significantly increased mitoses (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — How to apply sunscreen — AAD on how much sunscreen to use (about a teaspoon for the face) and reapplying every two hours (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Dermatologists' top tips for relieving dry skin — AAD on moisturizing damp skin and choosing a cream for dry skin (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • U.S. FDA — Sunless Tanners & Bronzers — FDA's own page on self-tanners. It states that the commonly used ingredient is 'dihydroxyacetone (DHA), a color additive that darkens the skin by reacting with amino acids in the skin's surface' — which is the whole mechanism, and the reason a DHA tan lives on the layer a retinoid turns over. DHA's cosmetic use 'is restricted to external application (21 CFR 73.2150)', where externally applied means 'applied only to external parts of the body and not to the lips or any body surface covered by mucous membrane', and 'DHA is not permitted for use in the area of the eye' — the area the CFR defines as everything within the supra-orbital and infra-orbital ridges, including the eyelids. FDA also notes that DHA use as an all-over spray or mist in commercial booths 'has not been approved by the FDA, since safety data to support this use has not been submitted'. Bronzers, by contrast, 'produce a temporary effect, similar to other types of makeup, and wash off over time' (accessed October 11, 2026)

Keep reading