Retinol Room.

Elizabeth Arden vs RoC Retinol Capsules

Same format, same 30-count, same undisclosed retinol strength — at a two-and-a-half-fold price gap. One of them publishes its entire eight-ingredient formula. The other publishes a longer ingredient story and fewer facts.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy the RoC Retinol Correxion Night Serum Capsules. They are the cheaper of the two by a wide margin, they do the one thing the format exists to do just as completely, and RoC publishes its entire formula — eight ingredients, no water, no fragrance — on its own product page. That last point is the deciding one, and it is not a small thing in a category where almost nobody publishes anything.

Buy the Elizabeth Arden Retinol + HPR Ceramide Capsules if you specifically want ceramides and a second retinoid in the capsule and are willing to pay roughly two and a half times as much for them. That is a legitimate reason. It is not a reason to expect a stronger product, because neither brand states a retinol concentration, and Elizabeth Arden does not state its HPR concentration either.

Both products are 30 single-use capsules. Both are therefore one month at nightly use and rather longer at the frequency a sensible person actually starts on. Both are night products. On every structural axis they are the same purchase, which is why this comparison comes down to what each brand is prepared to tell you and what each one costs per night.

Below: what the sealed format genuinely fixes — and it does fix something measurable — then the two formulas as published, then the cost arithmetic and a verdict.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on formulation, stated concentration and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these products — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
RoC Retinol Correxion Anti-Aging Wrinkle Night Serum Capsules (30 ct)

RoC Retinol Correxion Anti-Aging Wrinkle Night Serum Capsules (30 ct)

The affordable way to buy retinol in single-dose capsules. You get the same airtight, pre-measured logic as the luxury versions at drugstore money, from the brand with the longest retinol track record on the shelf — with the same undisclosed strength as the rest of RoC's range.

Best overall, and the published formula
$21.99 · View on Amazon

$32.9933% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Elizabeth Arden Retinol + HPR Ceramide Capsules Skin Renewing Serum (30 ct)

Elizabeth Arden Retinol + HPR Ceramide Capsules Skin Renewing Serum (30 ct)

Single-dose capsules that solve retinol's real packaging problem — light and air — by never exposing the rest of the product to either. It pairs retinol with HPR, a retinoid ester, plus ceramides. The dose control is genuine; the price per night is not small.

Best if you want HPR and ceramides
$56.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Versed Press Restart Gentle Encapsulated Retinol Serum

Versed Press Restart Gentle Encapsulated Retinol Serum

One of the few products that puts the delivery system in the product name rather than burying it: encapsulated retinol, with bakuchiol alongside, in a light face serum at a genuinely low price. A sensible gentle route in, provided you accept an unstated dose.

Best encapsulation in a bottle instead
$19.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The clearest-labeled retinol you can buy: an exact 0.5% pure retinol in a squalane base, at a price that makes 'start low and go slow' painless. For most people ready to move up from a starter strength, this is the sensible middle rung.

If you want a stated strength instead
$9.30 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall, and the published formula

RoC Retinol Correxion Anti-Aging Wrinkle Night Serum Capsules (30 ct)

The affordable way to buy retinol in single-dose capsules. You get the same airtight, pre-measured logic as the luxury versions at drugstore money, from the brand with the longest retinol track record on the shelf — with the same undisclosed strength as the rest of RoC's range.

Strengths

  • Airtight single doses at a drugstore price
  • Pre-measured, which stops the most common beginner mistake of using too much
  • RoC has been formulating retinol longer than almost anyone on the shelf

Trade-offs

  • Retinol strength is not published
  • 30 capsules is a month at most, so the running cost adds up
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatSingle-dose capsule serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forNormal, Mature

Formulation note. Retinol sealed in single-use capsules, so the product is not sitting in a part-used bottle oxidizing between uses. That is a packaging advantage, not a strength claim — the concentration is undisclosed. The published ingredient list is eight items with no water and no fragrance: a silicone-and-oil base, retinol, an antioxidant, ceramide NP and a preservative. 0.35 oz total across 30 capsules per the listing.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on September 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best if you want HPR and ceramides

Elizabeth Arden Retinol + HPR Ceramide Capsules Skin Renewing Serum (30 ct)

Single-dose capsules that solve retinol's real packaging problem — light and air — by never exposing the rest of the product to either. It pairs retinol with HPR, a retinoid ester, plus ceramides. The dose control is genuine; the price per night is not small.

Strengths

  • Each capsule is airtight and single-use, so the retinol cannot oxidize in the bottle
  • One capsule is a pre-measured dose — no guessing at how much to use
  • Retinol plus HPR plus ceramides, so there is buffering built in

Trade-offs

  • Expensive per night, and a 30-count is one month at nightly use
  • Neither the retinol nor the HPR concentration is published
  • Single-use plastic capsules are a real waste trade-off
Key activeRetinol + HPR (hydroxypinacolone retinoate) + ceramides
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatSingle-dose capsule serum
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forNormal, Dry, Mature

Formulation note. Physically encapsulated single doses — a sealed capsule per night — rather than molecular encapsulation of the retinol itself. Both approaches address stability; they are not the same thing, and the listing describes the capsule format. Concentrations are undisclosed.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best encapsulation in a bottle instead

Versed Press Restart Gentle Encapsulated Retinol Serum

One of the few products that puts the delivery system in the product name rather than burying it: encapsulated retinol, with bakuchiol alongside, in a light face serum at a genuinely low price. A sensible gentle route in, provided you accept an unstated dose.

Strengths

  • Encapsulation is stated on the listing, not implied by marketing adjectives
  • Bakuchiol alongside the retinol for a softer on-ramp
  • Light texture and a low price for a face serum

Trade-offs

  • Retinol percentage is not published
  • Bakuchiol's evidence base is far thinner than retinol's — treat it as tolerability, not potency
Key activeEncapsulated retinol + bakuchiol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatLight serum
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forSensitive, Beginner, Normal

Formulation note. Encapsulated retinol paired with bakuchiol, per the listing. Encapsulation holds the retinol in a carrier that releases it more gradually, which tends to lower irritation for a given amount of active. The amount itself is not stated.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4If you want a stated strength instead

The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The clearest-labeled retinol you can buy: an exact 0.5% pure retinol in a squalane base, at a price that makes 'start low and go slow' painless. For most people ready to move up from a starter strength, this is the sensible middle rung.

Strengths

  • Publishes the exact strength — 0.5% — which almost no drugstore retinol does
  • Squalane base is lightly occlusive and cushions irritation
  • Sold in 0.2% / 0.5% / 1% so you can step up deliberately

Trade-offs

  • Pure retinol in an anhydrous oil — no added niacinamide or soothing actives
  • Squalane finish can feel heavy layered over other oils
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentration0.5%
FormatLightweight oil serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forNormal, Dry, Not-too-sensitive

Formulation note. Pure retinol dispersed in squalane; no water phase, so none of the pH and packaging fuss vitamin C needs. The strength is printed on the label, which is the exception in this category, not the rule.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What a sealed capsule actually fixes

This is the rare format claim with a measured problem behind it. A validated HPLC study of 16 retinoid derivatives across 12 commercial cosmetics tracked them through six months of stability testing and a one-week photostability study. The findings are worth stating in full, because they are the entire argument for buying capsules at all:

  • Retinoid content declined by anywhere from 0% to 80%after six months at 25 °C — room temperature.
  • At 40 °C, the decline was 40% to 100%.
  • “Light degradation was more pronounced than temperature-induced degradation.”
  • The instabilities were formulation-dependent and were associated with lower contents than declared in some of the products.

So the thing a capsule removes is real: a part-used bottle sits in a warm, lit bathroom for months with air in the headspace, and the active in it is on a first-order decay curve the whole time. A sealed single dose never experiences any of that. Both of these products deliver that benefit identically, and neither brand had to invent it.

Two honest limits. The study did not test either of these products, so this is the size of the problem rather than a measurement of these solutions. And a capsule does nothing about degradation before it reaches you — it protects the product in your bathroom, not in a warehouse. Our guide to retinol shelf life works through the full packaging hierarchy, and single-dose capsules sit at the top of it.

The second thing it fixes, which nobody advertises

A capsule is a pre-measured dose. The most common beginner error is not choosing the wrong strength — it is using three or four times too much of the right one, which buys you flaking and no extra benefit. A capsule makes that mistake physically impossible. For a first retinoid that is arguably worth more than the stability argument. Our guide to how much retinol to use has the published dosing measure and what a bottle should actually last.

The two formulas, as published

RoC: eight ingredients, printed

RoC’s own product page lists the whole formula: cyclopentasiloxane, ethylhexyl cocoate, dimethiconol, soybean oil, retinol, dimethylmethoxy chromanol, ceramide NP and phenoxyethanol. That is a silicone-and-oil base, the retinol, an antioxidant, one ceramide and a preservative. The page states “formulated without fragrance” and that each capsule is vegetal-based and biodegradable.

An eight-item anhydrous list is a genuinely informative disclosure. There is no water in it, which is consistent with a retinoid stability strategy rather than a marketing one, and there is nowhere for an undeclared irritant to hide. It is the only fragrance-free product in RoC’s retinol range.

What the page does notcontain is a retinol percentage, anywhere. It also carries efficacy claims — 97% visibly smoother skin in one night, 100% visibly firmer in four weeks, 0% irritation among testers — with no sample size, no study design and no publication, and the Amazon listing quotes the same study with different figures. Treat those as advertising. Our full review takes them apart line by line.

Elizabeth Arden: more actives, fewer figures

Elizabeth Arden pairs retinol with HPR — hydroxypinacolone retinoate, a retinoid ester — plus ceramides. On paper that is the more sophisticated formula: two retinoids working at different points, with barrier lipids in the same capsule.

The problem is that neither concentration is published. The one clinical study we can cite on an HPR-plus-retinol combination used 0.1% HPR with 1% encapsulated retinol and reported a 41% mean reduction in acne grade in an open pilotwhose own authors called for a controlled trial. Elizabeth Arden does not state that it uses those figures, so that study tells you the combination has been studied somewhere — not what is in this capsule. Our full review of the Elizabeth Arden capsules goes through the formula and the two figures the brand does not print, and our retinol vs Granactive Retinoid comparison covers what retinoid esters do and do not do.

One word, two different things

Both products get called “encapsulated retinol” and neither is, in the sense that term usually means. These are physically encapsulated single doses— a sealed capsule per night. Molecular encapsulation, where the retinol molecule itself is carried in a delivery vehicle inside a normal bottle, is a different technology aimed at release rate as well as stability. Both approaches address stability; they are not the same thing. The Versed serum in the table above is the molecular kind, in a bottle, and our encapsulated retinol roundup separates the two properly.

Cost per night, which is the real comparison

Both boxes are 30 capsules, so the arithmetic is unusually clean: divide the live price in the table above by 30 and you have the cost of a night. At the prices showing here, RoC lands well under a dollar a night and Elizabeth Arden lands close to two. Over a year of four-nights-a-week use that is a difference of real money for a benefit neither brand quantifies.

The running-cost objection applies to both, and it is the honest weakness of the whole format: 30 capsules is a month at nightly use, where a 30 ml bottle at a pea per night lasts far longer. You are paying a premium for packaging. Whether that is worth it depends entirely on whether the stability and dosing problems above are ones you actually have — and if you keep your retinol in a cool dark drawer and already measure a pea, they may not be.

Which one for which buyer

A first-ever retinoid

RoC, and start every other night rather than nightly — which is RoC’s own published direction, and it is correct. The pre-measured dose removes the most common beginner error, the fragrance-free eight-item formula removes the most common irritant, and the price makes an unsuccessful experiment cheap. The beginner roundup has the wider set.

Dry or reactive skin

Either, with a small edge to Elizabeth Arden on formulation reasoning: ceramides plus an ester alongside the retinol is deliberate buffering. RoC’s formula also contains ceramide NP and is the one confirmed fragrance-free, which pulls the other way. If barrier support is the priority rather than the format, our retinol with ceramides roundup is the better starting page.

Someone who wants to know what they are applying

Neither, strictly. Both strengths are unpublished, and no capsule will tell you a number. If the figure matters more than the format, buy a product that prints one and keep it in a drawer — The Ordinary’s 0.5% is in the table above for exactly that reason, and our percentages guide explains what the number buys you.

A gift

Elizabeth Arden, on presentation rather than on formula, and that is a fair reason to buy it. A premium boxed capsule serum gives better than a drugstore carton. Our retinol gift guide handles the rest of that question.

The verdict

RoC, for most people, most of the time. The sealed format is the entire value proposition of both products, both deliver it equally, and only one of them also publishes its formula and charges drugstore money. Elizabeth Arden’s extra actives are real and may well suit drier skin better — but you are paying a premium for ingredients whose quantities neither you nor we can read, and the cheaper product is the one being more straightforward with you.

Frequently asked questions

Are retinol capsules better than a bottle?

For stability, yes, and there is published work behind it: retinoid content in commercial cosmetics declined by 0-80% over six months at room temperature, with light the worse stressor, and some products ended up with lower contents than declared. A sealed single dose never experiences a part-used bottle. The cost is money and plastic — 30 capsules is a month at nightly use.

Which capsules are stronger, Elizabeth Arden or RoC?

Nobody can say. Neither brand publishes a retinol concentration anywhere, and Elizabeth Arden does not publish its HPR concentration either. Any article giving you a figure for either product has invented it. On everything that is published, the comparison is about formula transparency and cost per night.

Does Elizabeth Arden's HPR make it more effective?

It makes it a more interesting formula on paper, and that is as far as the evidence goes here. The one study we can cite on an HPR-plus-retinol combination used 0.1% HPR with 1% encapsulated retinol in an open pilot with no control arm, and its own authors called for a controlled trial. Elizabeth Arden does not state that it uses those amounts, so the study does not transfer to this capsule.

How long does a 30-capsule box last?

One month at nightly use, and that is the wrong way to start. RoC's own directions say to begin every other night and increase gradually, which makes a box nearer two months at the beginning — and makes the running cost more bearable than the headline suggests.

Are either of these fragrance-free?

RoC states 'formulated without fragrance' on its own product page, and its published eight-ingredient list contains no fragrance — it is the only fragrance-free product in RoC's retinol range. Elizabeth Arden does not publish a fragrance-free claim we could verify, so we record that as not published rather than assuming either way.

Is 'encapsulated retinol' the same as a retinol capsule?

No, and the overlap in wording causes real confusion. These products are physically encapsulated single doses — one sealed capsule per night. Molecular encapsulation carries the retinol molecule in a delivery vehicle inside an ordinary bottle, which targets release rate as well as stability. Both address stability; they are different technologies.

Can I use a capsule on my neck as well as my face?

RoC's own directions say to smooth the serum over cleansed face and neck, so one capsule is intended to cover both. In practice a single dose across face, neck and chest is thin coverage, and if the neck and chest are your priority a larger-format product is the better buy.

Sources

  • Temova Rakuša Ž, Škufca P, Kristl A, Roškar R — Retinoid stability and degradation kinetics in commercial cosmetic products (J Cosmet Dermatol, 2021) — Validated HPLC-UV study of 16 retinoid derivatives (retinol, retinyl palmitate, beta-carotene and hydroxypinacolone retinoate) in 12 commercial cosmetics over 6 months of long-term and accelerated stability testing plus a one-week photostability study. Retinoid degradation followed first-order kinetics; the products showed a 0%-80% decline after 6 months at 25 °C and a 40%-100% decline at 40 °C; 'light degradation was more pronounced than temperature-induced degradation'; instabilities were 'formulation-dependent and associated with lower contents than declared in some cosmetics'. Cited for the size of the stability problem a sealed single-dose format is built to solve — the study did not test this product (accessed September 19, 2026)
  • RoC Skincare — RETINOL CORREXION Line Smoothing Night Serum Capsules (brand product page) — RoC's own page for the product Amazon lists as 'Retinol Correxion Anti-Aging Wrinkle Night Serum Capsules'. Publishes the full ingredient list — 'Cyclopentasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Cocoate, Dimethiconol, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Retinol, Dimethylmethoxy Chromanol, Ceramide NP, Phenoxyethanol' — and states 'FORMULATED WITHOUT FRAGRANCE' and 'EACH VEGETAL-BASED CAPSULE IS 100% BIODEGRADABLE'. Directions: 'Gently twist to open the capsule. Smooth serum over cleansed face and neck at night', 'Begin applying this product every other night and then gradually increase frequency of use to every night', 'Always apply a sunscreen of SPF 30 or higher in the AM while using this product', and store 'sealed in their container in a cool, dry place'. Its efficacy claims ('97% had visibly smoother skin in 1 night', '97% had visibly reduced lines & wrinkles' in 1 night, 'Skin was 64% more hydrated' in 1 week, '100% had visibly firmer skin' in 4 weeks, '100% of testers had 0% irritation') carry no sample size, study design or publication; the Amazon listing's bullet quotes the same study as '97% had smoother skin in 1 night', '63% more hydrated in 1 week' and 'visibly firmer by 30% after 4 weeks'. No retinol percentage is stated anywhere on the page. Cited for what the brand publishes about its own formula, not as evidence of efficacy (accessed September 19, 2026)
  • Veraldi S et al. — Hydroxypinacolone retinoate with retinol glycospheres in mild to moderate acne (G Ital Dermatol Venereol, 2015) — Open pilot study of a fixed combination containing 0.1% hydroxypinacolone retinoate (a synthetic ester of 9-cis-retinoic acid) plus 1% encapsulated retinol: 41% mean reduction in acne grade, 15.3% mild-to-moderate local side effects, and the authors themselves call for a controlled trial (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • U.S. FDA — 21 CFR 701.3, Designation of ingredients (eCFR) — The federal rule governing how a cosmetic ingredient list is ordered. Paragraph (a): 'The label on each package of a cosmetic shall bear a declaration of the name of each ingredient in descending order of predominance, except that fragrance or flavor may be listed as fragrance or flavor.' Paragraph (f) allows an alternative: ingredients 'present at a concentration greater than 1 percent, in descending order of predominance', followed by ingredients 'present at a concentration of not more than 1 percent, without respect to order of predominance', followed by color additives 'without respect to order of predominance'. Cited for the exact limit of what an ingredient's POSITION can tell a reader: late placement indicates the 1-percent-or-less group, but within that group the order carries no information about quantity (accessed September 26, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Retinoid or retinol? — AAD on the difference between prescription retinoids and OTC retinol (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • Long CC, Finlay AY — The finger-tip unit: a new practical measure (Clin Exp Dermatol, 1991) — The paper that defined the fingertip unit. Thirty adult patients treated various body regions; the number of FTUs required was face and neck 2.5, front of trunk 6.7, back of trunk 6.8, arm and forearm 3.3, hand 1.2, leg and thigh 5.8, foot 1.8. One FTU covers 286 cm2 (s.d. 80) — 312 cm2 in males, 257 cm2 in females. It is a dermatological DOSING measure for ointments, not a retinol instruction, and is cited here only as the published way to reason about how much topical product an area takes (accessed September 18, 2026)

Keep reading