Retinol Room.

Retinol vs Lactic Acid

The gentlest of the acids against the best-evidenced active. Lactic acid works on the layer you can already see; a retinoid works on the one producing it. For rough body skin, keratosis pilaris and facial texture, the choice is more decided than people expect — and in one case the honest answer is both.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

For almost everything people buy either of these for, the answer is a retinoid — and on rough body skin specifically, the Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion. Lactic acid is the better product for one week; a retinoid is the better product for one year. If you are treating a face rather than a body, the CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum does the same job for less money.

The distinction is simple enough to hold in your head. Lactic acid is an alpha hydroxy acid: it loosens the bonds holding dead cells together at the surface, so the top layer comes away and the skin underneath reads smoother and brighter straight away. A retinoid acts further down, changing how quickly the epidermis renews and — on the published histology for prescription tretinoin — adding new collagen fibrils in the papillary dermis over months. One removes what is there. The other changes what gets made.

So they are not rivals in the way the search suggests. They are a fast cosmetic fix and a slow structural one, and the useful question is which problem you have. If the answer is “rough, dull, flaky and I have an event on Saturday”, use the acid. If it is “this is how my skin is”, use the retinoid.

One case genuinely calls for both, and it is the one the dermatologists’ own guidance names: keratosis pilaris. Three picks, then the mechanisms, then how to run them together without a stripped barrier.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on formulation, stated concentration and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these products — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

The sensible middle of this category: a shea-butter body lotion with retinol in it, in a size you can actually use on arms and legs, at a price that does not make you ration it. If you want one bottle that moisturizes properly and treats quietly, this is the shape that makes sense.

Best for rough body skin
$25.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Encapsulated retinol with ceramides and licorice root, aimed squarely at post-acne marks and texture rather than deep wrinkles. Gentle, barrier-friendly and cheap — but the strength is unstated, so set expectations by what it's for.

Best for facial texture and marks
$16.49 · View on Amazon

$21.9925% off

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Gold Bond Age Renew Retinol Overnight Body & Face Lotion

Gold Bond Age Renew Retinol Overnight Body & Face Lotion

The drugstore default, and a better-built one than its price suggests: the brand's own list puts niacinamide seventh and adds a peptide, a ceramide and three humectants around the retinol, on a fragrance-free, hypoallergenic, dermatologist-tested label cleared for face as well as body. The cheapest sensible way to start treating body skin — just do not expect it to outperform a dedicated face retinol on your face.

Best if you want both in one bottle
$11.97 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best for rough body skin

Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

The sensible middle of this category: a shea-butter body lotion with retinol in it, in a size you can actually use on arms and legs, at a price that does not make you ration it. If you want one bottle that moisturizes properly and treats quietly, this is the shape that makes sense.

Strengths

  • Shea butter base means it works as a real moisturizer, not just a carrier
  • 8 oz is enough to cover arms and legs regularly
  • Mid-range price per ounce for a treatment lotion

Trade-offs

  • Retinol strength is not published
  • Stock has been thinner than the rest of this list — check availability before you plan around it
Key activeRetinol (+ shea butter)
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatRich body lotion
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forDry, Normal

Formulation note. Retinol in a shea-butter body lotion base, per the listing. The emollient base is the reason it doubles as your moisturizer; the retinol figure is undisclosed, as it is across this whole category.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for facial texture and marks

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Encapsulated retinol with ceramides and licorice root, aimed squarely at post-acne marks and texture rather than deep wrinkles. Gentle, barrier-friendly and cheap — but the strength is unstated, so set expectations by what it's for.

Strengths

  • Ceramides + niacinamide support the barrier while the retinol works
  • Encapsulated delivery is gentler on reactive skin
  • One of the least expensive 'real' retinol serums

Trade-offs

  • Concentration is not published
  • Marketed for marks, not deep wrinkles — set expectations accordingly
Key activeEncapsulated retinol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatFluid lotion-serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forAcne-prone, Normal, Sensitive

Formulation note. Encapsulated retinol + 3 essential ceramides + niacinamide + licorice root extract. The ceramide payload is why it stays tolerable; the retinol strength is not disclosed.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best if you want both in one bottle

Gold Bond Age Renew Retinol Overnight Body & Face Lotion

The drugstore default, and a better-built one than its price suggests: the brand's own list puts niacinamide seventh and adds a peptide, a ceramide and three humectants around the retinol, on a fragrance-free, hypoallergenic, dermatologist-tested label cleared for face as well as body. The cheapest sensible way to start treating body skin — just do not expect it to outperform a dedicated face retinol on your face.

Strengths

  • Lowest barrier to entry of anything here
  • Niacinamide, a peptide and ceramide NG alongside the retinol, per the brand's published ingredient list
  • Fragrance-free, hypoallergenic and dermatologist-tested, per the brand page
  • Labeled for face and body, so one bottle covers both

Trade-offs

  • Retinol strength is not published
  • A face-and-body formula is dosed conservatively — it is not a substitute for a real face retinol
  • Its 'smoother looking skin overnight' claim carries no sample size, and describes the emollient base rather than the retinoid
Key activeRetinol + peptide complex
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatOvernight body lotion
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forDry, Normal

Formulation note. Retinol eighteenth in the brand's published 45-ingredient list, behind niacinamide (seventh) and an emollient stack of shea butter, jojoba esters, squalene and phytosterols, and followed by sodium ascorbate, palmitoyl hexapeptide-12 (the named 'Retinol & Peptide Complex') and ceramide NG. Under 21 CFR 701.3 that position only places the retinol in the sub-1% group, which is true of every cosmetic retinoid — it proves presence, not dose. Dual-purpose formulas are dosed for the more delicate application, so read this as a gentle body treatment rather than a strong one.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What lactic acid is good at

Lactic acid belongs to the alpha hydroxy acid family, and the reference literature on chemical resurfacing describes the family’s mechanism the same way: they act on the stratum corneum, loosening cohesion between corneocytes so the surface layer sheds. Within that family lactic acid is the large, gentle one — a bigger molecule than glycolic acid, which is generally held to penetrate less and sting less, and the reason it turns up in body lotions and sensitive-skin products rather than in peel kits.

Three things follow. It works fast, because removing a layer is an immediate effect. It is the acid most likely to be tolerable on skin that reacts to everything. And its effect is shallow by design: it does not reach the dermis, it does not remodel anything, and when you stop, the surface returns to the state your skin keeps producing.

It also carries one specific caution the FDA puts on the whole AHA class: increased sun sensitivity. That is not a reason to avoid it, but it is a reason the morning sunscreen is non-negotiable on an acid routine as well as a retinoid one — see our sunscreen guide.

What a retinoid is good at

Everything with a timescale. The published record on retinoids is the strongest thing in non-prescription skincare: double-blind histology on 0.1% tretinoin showing epidermal hyperplasia, compaction of the stratum corneum and new collagen fibrils in the papillary dermis, with clinical improvement in photoaging peaking at about ten months and no further gain out to twenty-two. There is no equivalent body of work on lactic acid for lines, pigment depth or dermal structure, and nobody serious claims otherwise.

The flip side is that a retinoid asks for patience and charges an entry fee: two to twelve weeks of adjustment in which skin is drier, sometimes flakier, and occasionally worse-looking than when you started. An acid asks for none of that and gives you none of the long-run result. Our timeline guide is the honest version of what those months look like.

The one place the guidance names both

Keratosis pilaris — the rough little bumps on the backs of the upper arms and thighs. The AAD’s own treatment page names alpha hydroxy acid, glycolic acid, lactic acid and a retinoid (adapalene, retinol, tazarotene or tretinoin) in the same breath, because the condition is a plug of keratin in a follicle and both approaches address it from different directions. That is the clearest published case for running the two, and our keratosis pilaris page sets out the schedule.

Which to buy, by what you are treating

  • Rough, bumpy upper arms and thighs: both, on alternate nights. Acid first if the bumps are the complaint, retinoid if the discoloration is.
  • Dry, flaky, dull-looking body skin: start with moisturizer, honestly. If that is not enough, a retinol body lotion treats the cause; an acid treats the look.
  • Dark, thickened elbows and knees: retinoid-led, with an acid as the alternate-night partner. Our elbows and knees page works through why scrubbing is the one approach to avoid.
  • Facial texture, visible pores, post-acne marks:retinoid. This is its home ground — see textured skin.
  • Fine lines, crepiness, photoaging: retinoid, with no real competition from any acid at cosmetic strengths.
  • Sensitive skin that has failed every retinoid:lactic acid is a genuine consolation prize — the gentlest useful active in the aisle. Our retinol alternatives page covers the rest of that list.

Running both without stripping your barrier

The failure mode is predictable: people add an acid to a retinoid routine on the same night, their barrier gives up in a fortnight, and they conclude the retinol was too strong. Three rules keep it manageable.

  1. Alternate nights, never the same night, until you know how your skin handles each one alone. Two actives that both increase shedding will find the limit of your barrier faster than either one would.
  2. Moisturize over both. Dryness is the shared side effect, and the AAD recommends creams over thin lotions for dry skin and applying within minutes of patting dry.
  3. Sunscreen every morning. AHAs carry an FDA-flagged sun-sensitivity caution and retinoids are a PM active for related reasons. The morning step is where the result is protected.

Our layering guide covers the full ordering question, and retinol vs glycolic acid is the sharper-edged version of this comparison if the acid you are considering is the stronger one.

A note on the one bottle that contains both

Gold Bond’s Age Renew Retinol lotion publishes its full forty-five-ingredient list, and sodium lactate — the salt form of lactic acid, used here as a humectant rather than as an exfoliating acid — appears in it alongside retinol, niacinamide and a ceramide. That is worth understanding precisely rather than loosely: it is not a lactic acid treatment, and nobody should buy it expecting an acid’s immediate smoothing. It is a retinol lotion whose formula happens to use a lactate for water binding, which is a sensible piece of formulation and not a second active.

That is a useful calibration for this whole comparison. A list that names both does not make a product two treatments. Under the federal rule, a cosmetic ingredient list is ordered by predominance only above one percent — below that, order carries no information at all, so no ingredient list will ever tell you whether the acid in a formula is doing anything.

Frequently asked questions

Can you use retinol and lactic acid together?

Yes, on alternate nights rather than the same night until you know how your skin takes each one alone. Both increase shedding, so stacking them is the fastest way to a stripped barrier — which people then blame on the retinol. The AAD's own keratosis pilaris guidance names both an acid and a retinoid for the same condition, so the combination is not exotic; the schedule is just what keeps it comfortable.

Which is stronger, retinol or lactic acid?

They are not on the same scale. Lactic acid has a bigger immediate effect because it removes the surface layer you can see; a retinoid has a far bigger long-run effect because it changes how that layer is produced and, on the published histology, adds collagen in the dermis over months. Strong in a week versus strong in a year.

Is lactic acid gentler than retinol?

Generally yes, and that is its main argument. Lactic acid is the large, mild member of the alpha hydroxy acid family — less penetrating and less stinging than glycolic acid — which is why it appears in sensitive-skin and body products. If every retinoid you have tried has failed, it is the most reasonable thing to try next.

Which is better for keratosis pilaris?

Both, and the AAD names both: alpha hydroxy acid, glycolic acid, lactic acid and a retinoid are all on its treatment page for the condition. In practice lead with the acid if the bumps and roughness are what bother you, and lead with the retinoid if the lingering discoloration is. Alternate nights, moisturizer over the top, and expect it to need maintaining rather than curing.

Does lactic acid make you sun sensitive?

The FDA flags increased sun sensitivity for alpha hydroxy acids as a class, so treat daily broad-spectrum sunscreen as part of the routine rather than an extra. The same morning step is already required on a retinoid routine, so running both changes nothing about what you need to do — only how important it is that you actually do it.

Can I use lactic acid instead of retinol for wrinkles?

You can use it, but not as a substitute. There is a large published record on retinoids and photoaged skin and no comparable body of work on lactic acid at cosmetic strengths for lines or dermal structure. An acid can make skin look smoother and brighter in the short term, which is worth something — it is just not the same claim.

Should I use the acid or the retinoid first if I use both in one night?

Our advice is not to use both in one night while you are establishing tolerance. If you have run each one comfortably for months and want to combine them, the thinner, more acidic product goes first on clean dry skin, the retinoid after, moisturizer over both — and the first sign of tightness or stinging means going back to alternate nights.

Sources

  • U.S. FDA — Alpha Hydroxy Acids — FDA on AHAs and increased sun sensitivity (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • Chemical Peels for Skin Resurfacing — StatPearls (NCBI Bookshelf) — Reference overview of AHA/BHA exfoliation mechanisms (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Keratosis pilaris: Diagnosis and treatment — AAD names alpha hydroxy acid, glycolic acid, lactic acid, retinoid (adapalene, retinol, tazarotene, tretinoin), salicylic acid and urea as the exfoliating ingredients used, and states treatment cannot cure it (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • Voorhees JJ — Clinical effects of long-term therapy with topical tretinoin and cellular mode of action (J Int Med Res, 1990) — Double-blind, placebo-controlled study: 0.1% topical tretinoin reduced the effects of photoageing maximally after 10 months, with no further improvement between 10 and 22 months. Histologically it induced 'epidermal hyperplasia, compaction of the stratum corneum and the deposition of ultrastructurally visible collagen fibrils in the papillary dermis', reduced the number and activity of melanocytes, and significantly increased mitoses (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Retinoid or retinol? — AAD on the difference between prescription retinoids and OTC retinol (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Dermatologists' top tips for relieving dry skin — AAD on moisturizing damp skin and choosing a cream for dry skin (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — How to pick the right moisturizer for your skin — AAD guidance by skin type, including the dermatologist quoted on the page saying 'I tell some people never put moisturizer on the center of your face' — the published statement of the zone-by-zone approach combination skin needs. It also names ceramides and hyaluronic acid as ingredients to look for, recommends creams or ointments over lotions for dry skin and a lighter gel for oily skin, and advises fragrance-free products labeled non-comedogenic (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Gold Bond — Age Renew Retinol Overnight Body & Face Lotion (brand product page) — The brand's own page for the product Amazon lists as 'Gold Bond Age Renew Retinol Overnight Body & Face Lotion, Retinol Face and Body Lotion with Peptide Complex, 7 oz'. Publishes the full 45-ingredient list, in which hydroxyethyl urea is 2nd, shea butter extract 3rd, dimethicone 4th, glycerin 5th, NIACINAMIDE 7th, then a run of emollient esters, squalene, phytosterols and tocopherol, with RETINOL 18th, followed by sodium ascorbate 21st, PALMITOYL HEXAPEPTIDE-12 22nd (the 'Retinol & Peptide Complex' the front of pack names), sodium lactate and sodium PCA, panthenol, and CERAMIDE NG 43rd. States 'Fragrance-free', 'Hypoallergenic', 'Dermatologist-tested' and 'Free of parabens, phthalates, and dyes', and confirms 'This product is formulated and tested for facial use' as well as body use. Sold in a 7 oz tube and a 13 oz bottle described as a Walmart exclusive. Its efficacy claims — 'Clinically shown to reveal smoother looking skin overnight', 'Clinically shown to smooth and hydrate aging skin' and 'Clinically shown to visibly smooth skin' — carry no sample size, study design or publication, and directions are given only as 'Use as directed'. NO retinol percentage is stated anywhere on the page. Cited for what the brand publishes about its own formula, never as evidence of efficacy (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • U.S. FDA — 21 CFR 701.3, Designation of ingredients (eCFR) — The federal rule governing how a cosmetic ingredient list is ordered. Paragraph (a): 'The label on each package of a cosmetic shall bear a declaration of the name of each ingredient in descending order of predominance, except that fragrance or flavor may be listed as fragrance or flavor.' Paragraph (f) allows an alternative: ingredients 'present at a concentration greater than 1 percent, in descending order of predominance', followed by ingredients 'present at a concentration of not more than 1 percent, without respect to order of predominance', followed by color additives 'without respect to order of predominance'. Cited for the exact limit of what an ingredient's POSITION can tell a reader: late placement indicates the 1-percent-or-less group, but within that group the order carries no information about quantity (accessed September 26, 2026)

Keep reading