Retinol Room.

Naturium vs CeraVe Retinol

Two inexpensive encapsulated-retinol serums, neither of which will tell you how much retinol is in the bottle. So this comparison is decided on the three things both brands do publish: what else is in the formula, what each serum is sold to do, and which brand gives you a stated number if you want one.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

For most people the answer is CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum. It is the cheapest of the four picks below, it is fragrance-free, it carries ceramides and niacinamide alongside an encapsulated retinol, and it is sold for the job most people buying a first serum actually have — post-acne marks and uneven texture rather than deep lines.

Buy Naturium Retinol Complexinstead if a retinoid has irritated you before and you want the most cautious on-ramp of the two brands. It pairs encapsulated retinols with bakuchiol in a light, fragrance-free serum, and the honest reason to choose it is tolerability rather than potency — bakuchiol’s published evidence is a fraction of retinol’s and we treat it as support, not as a second active.

And here is the finding that should decide it for anyone who cares about dose: neither brand publishes a retinol percentage on any of these three serums. Not CeraVe, not Naturium. If a stated number is what you are after, the only product in either brand’s line-up that gives you one is Naturium’s retinaldehyde cream serum — a stated 0.10% retinal, a different and stronger molecule, which is the fourth pick below and a genuine step up rather than an alternative.

Four picks, then what the published ingredient lists prove and what they cannot, then which to buy by situation.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on formulation, stated concentration and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these products — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Encapsulated retinol with ceramides and licorice root, aimed squarely at post-acne marks and texture rather than deep wrinkles. Gentle, barrier-friendly and cheap — but the strength is unstated, so set expectations by what it's for.

Best overall, and the cheapest
$16.49 · View on Amazon

$21.9925% off

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Naturium Retinol Complex Serum

Naturium Retinol Complex Serum

Blends encapsulated retinol with bakuchiol, a plant extract with retinol-adjacent research, to soften the ramp-up. A reasonable gentle middle option — with an unstated retinol dose you're taking on trust.

Best gentle on-ramp
$16.79 · View on Amazon

$20.9920% off

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
CeraVe Retinol Serum with Niacinamide & Hyaluronic Acid

CeraVe Retinol Serum with Niacinamide & Hyaluronic Acid

CeraVe's other retinol serum, and the one people buy by accident when they meant the Resurfacing one. This is the anti-aging version — retinol with niacinamide, hyaluronic acid and ceramides in a fluid base, aimed at fine lines and dullness rather than post-acne marks.

Best for dryness and fine lines
$20.99 · View on Amazon

$24.9916% off

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Naturium Retinaldehyde Cream Serum 0.10%

Naturium Retinaldehyde Cream Serum 0.10%

A stated 0.10% retinal in a cream-serum base, sold in a 1.7 oz size explicitly for face, neck and chest. That size-and-scope combination is unusual and genuinely useful: most retinals come in 1 oz bottles you end up rationing for the face alone.

Best if you want a stated strength
$23.09 · View on Amazon

$32.0028% off

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall, and the cheapest

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Encapsulated retinol with ceramides and licorice root, aimed squarely at post-acne marks and texture rather than deep wrinkles. Gentle, barrier-friendly and cheap — but the strength is unstated, so set expectations by what it's for.

Strengths

  • Ceramides + niacinamide support the barrier while the retinol works
  • Encapsulated delivery is gentler on reactive skin
  • One of the least expensive 'real' retinol serums

Trade-offs

  • Concentration is not published
  • Marketed for marks, not deep wrinkles — set expectations accordingly
Key activeEncapsulated retinol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatFluid lotion-serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forAcne-prone, Normal, Sensitive

Formulation note. Encapsulated retinol + 3 essential ceramides + niacinamide + licorice root extract. The ceramide payload is why it stays tolerable; the retinol strength is not disclosed.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best gentle on-ramp

Naturium Retinol Complex Serum

Blends encapsulated retinol with bakuchiol, a plant extract with retinol-adjacent research, to soften the ramp-up. A reasonable gentle middle option — with an unstated retinol dose you're taking on trust.

Strengths

  • Bakuchiol pairing aims to reduce early irritation
  • Encapsulated retinols for a slower release
  • Inexpensive for the category

Trade-offs

  • Retinol percentage is not published
  • Bakuchiol's evidence base is smaller than retinol's — treat it as support, not a replacement
Key activeRetinol + bakuchiol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatLightweight serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forNormal, Combination, Cautious beginners

Formulation note. Encapsulated retinols + bakuchiol. Bakuchiol has a few supportive studies but a fraction of retinol's evidence; we present it as an adjunct, not an equal.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for dryness and fine lines

CeraVe Retinol Serum with Niacinamide & Hyaluronic Acid

CeraVe's other retinol serum, and the one people buy by accident when they meant the Resurfacing one. This is the anti-aging version — retinol with niacinamide, hyaluronic acid and ceramides in a fluid base, aimed at fine lines and dullness rather than post-acne marks.

Strengths

  • Niacinamide, hyaluronic acid and ceramides do real buffering work
  • Fluid, lightweight texture that layers under a moisturizer easily
  • Drugstore price from a brand with a strong barrier-formulation record

Trade-offs

  • Retinol concentration is not published
  • Easy to confuse with CeraVe's Resurfacing serum, which is a different product for a different job
Key activeRetinol + niacinamide + hyaluronic acid
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatFluid serum
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forNormal, Dry, Sensitive

Formulation note. Retinol paired with niacinamide, hyaluronic acid and CeraVe's ceramide complex. The supporting cast is the point: the barrier ingredients are what let a retinol sit comfortably on skin that reacts. The retinol figure itself is undisclosed.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best if you want a stated strength

Naturium Retinaldehyde Cream Serum 0.10%

A stated 0.10% retinal in a cream-serum base, sold in a 1.7 oz size explicitly for face, neck and chest. That size-and-scope combination is unusual and genuinely useful: most retinals come in 1 oz bottles you end up rationing for the face alone.

Strengths

  • States 0.10% retinal — a mid rung you can actually place on the ladder
  • 1.7 oz is enough to cover neck and chest without rationing
  • Cream-serum texture is more cushioning than a thin emulsion

Trade-offs

  • Larger bottles take longer to finish, and retinal degrades once opened
  • Still a real retinoid dose over a large area — introduce it slowly
Key activeRetinaldehyde (retinal)
Stated concentration0.10%
FormatCream serum
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forNormal, Dry, Mature

Formulation note. A stated 0.10% retinaldehyde in a cream-serum base, listed for face, neck and chest. Sold alongside a 0.05% and a 0.15% in the same line, so the range functions as a ladder in the same way The Ordinary's retinols do.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What the ingredient lists show

CeraVe publishes full ingredient lists on its own site, which is more than most drugstore brands do, and the positions are instructive. On the Resurfacing serum, retinol appears 19th with sodium hyaluronate 20th; on the Skin Renewingserum, retinol appears 23rd with hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid 32nd. Both carry the brand’s three-ceramide complex and niacinamide.

That is genuinely useful information and it is also sharply limited. The federal rule on cosmetic ingredient lists orders ingredients by predominance only above one percent; below that line, a brand may list them in any order it likes. Every cosmetic retinoid lives under that line. So the position tells you the retinol is present and that it is in the sub-1% group — which is true of every product on this page — and it tells you nothing about dose. We say that plainly rather than build a ranking on it.

Naturium publishes an ingredient list too, and what it does not publish is the same thing CeraVe does not publish: a figure. Both brands sell “encapsulated” retinol, which is a delivery claim rather than a strength claim — the encapsulation argument is that a slower release is better tolerated, and our encapsulated retinol roundup covers what that does and does not buy you.

The three real differences

  1. What the product is sold to do. CeraVe Resurfacing is marketed at marks and texture; CeraVe Skin Renewing at fine lines and dullness; Naturium Retinol Complex at starting a retinoid without a bad fortnight. Buying the one aimed at your actual concern matters more here than any formulation difference between them, because the formulation differences are small.
  2. Base and supporting cast.CeraVe’s whole proposition is barrier ingredients in the same bottle — ceramides replace a lipid the barrier is literally built from, which is the best-evidenced supporting act in this category. Naturium’s is bakuchiol plus a light texture. Both are fragrance-free on the Resurfacing and Retinol Complex serums, which removes the commonest cause of “my retinol gave me a rash”.
  3. Whether a number is available at all.Only on Naturium’s retinal line. If knowing your dose is a requirement — and on this site we think it should be — then neither brand’s plain retinol serum qualifies, and the honest recommendation is The Ordinary’s stated ladder or Naturium’s stated retinal.

Which to buy, by situation

Post-acne marks, congestion, rough texture: CeraVe Resurfacing. It is the cheapest serum on the page and the one sold for exactly that job. See retinol for dark spots for the timeline, which is measured in months and not weeks.

Dry or reactive skin that flakes on retinoids: CeraVe Skin Renewing for the cushioning, or Naturium Retinol Complex if you want the lightest possible texture. Either way, moisturize over the top rather than choosing a product to avoid having to.

You have tried a retinol and it went badly: Naturium Retinol Complex, twice a week, with a moisturizer. Then read what a retinol burn actually is, because the usual cause is frequency rather than product.

You want to know your dose:neither plain retinol serum. Go to a brand that prints the figure — our serum roundup flags which ones do.

Already comfortable on an undisclosed retinol and want more: the Naturium retinaldehyde at a stated 0.10%, introduced as a step up. Our Medik8 vs Naturium retinal comparison explains where that figure sits on the retinal ladder.

What this page refuses to claim

That one of these serums is “stronger” than another. Nobody can know that from the public record, including us. Neither brand publishes an assay, a percentage or a head-to-head trial, and the retinoid evidence this site relies on — the double-blind histology, the collagen-formation trial — was produced with prescription tretinoin, not with either of these products.

What the evidence does support is the thing both brands are good at: a retinoid used consistently for months, cushioned enough that you keep using it. The published improvement curve rises for roughly ten months before it flattens. On that timescale the product you can afford and tolerate beats the product that was theoretically stronger and is sitting unused in a drawer, and both of these are cheap enough to finish.

Frequently asked questions

Which has more retinol, Naturium or CeraVe?

Nobody outside the two companies knows. Neither brand publishes a retinol percentage for these serums, and ingredient-list position cannot answer it: under the federal ordering rule, anything below one percent may be listed in any order, and every cosmetic retinoid is below one percent. Any site ranking them by strength is guessing.

Is CeraVe Resurfacing or Skin Renewing the one to buy?

Resurfacing for post-acne marks, congestion and texture; Skin Renewing for fine lines and dryness. They are different products for different jobs and are easy to confuse, which is the single most common mistake in this brand's line-up. Both carry ceramides and niacinamide.

Is Naturium gentler than CeraVe?

It is formulated to be — encapsulated retinols plus bakuchiol in a light base — but no brand publishes an irritation figure for any of these serums, so 'gentler' is a formulation argument rather than a measured result. CeraVe's Resurfacing serum is also encapsulated and fragrance-free. Frequency does more for tolerability than either choice.

Does bakuchiol make the Naturium serum work better?

Treat it as support rather than a second active. Bakuchiol has a few supportive studies and a tiny fraction of retinol's evidence base, and our retinol vs bakuchiol comparison sets out both. The reason to buy the Naturium is its tolerability-first formulation, not the bakuchiol's own effect.

Can I use both brands in the same routine?

You can alternate two retinol serums, but there is no benefit in it and it makes any reaction impossible to attribute. Pick one, use it for three months, and judge it. If you want more, step up the strength rather than stacking two undisclosed doses.

Which is better value?

CeraVe Resurfacing is normally the cheapest of the three plain retinol serums here, and all three are inexpensive enough to finish a bottle rather than ration it. Live prices are on every pick above with the date they were checked — that is the only price claim this site makes.

Sources

  • CeraVe — Resurfacing Retinol Serum (brand product page) — The brand's own page for the product. Publishes the full INCI, in which niacinamide is 5th, dipotassium glycyrrhizate 8th, hydrogenated lecithin 9th, ceramides NP, AP and EOP 10th to 12th, RETINOL 19th and sodium hyaluronate 20th. States 'Free of Added Fragrance' and 'Won't clog pores'. Directions: 'Apply evenly to face daily' in the PM, avoiding eyes and lips, with sunscreen used alongside. The product is marketed for post-acne marks, pore appearance, texture and brightness. NO retinol percentage is stated anywhere on the page, and the page publishes no efficacy figure, sample size or study design. Cited for what the brand publishes about its own formula, never as evidence of efficacy (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • CeraVe — Skin Renewing Retinol Serum (brand product page) — The brand's own page for CeraVe's OTHER retinol serum — the anti-aging one, routinely confused with the Resurfacing serum. Publishes the full INCI, in which ceramides NP, AP and EOP are 11th to 13th, niacinamide 15th, RETINOL 23rd and hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid 32nd. States 'Free of Added Fragrance'. Marketed for the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, texture and radiance across all skin types; directions are to apply in the evening after cleansing and 'gradually increase to daily use as skin adapts'. NO retinol percentage is stated, and no efficacy figure, sample size or study design is published. Cited for what the brand publishes about its own formula, never as evidence of efficacy (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • U.S. FDA — 21 CFR 701.3, Designation of ingredients (eCFR) — The federal rule governing how a cosmetic ingredient list is ordered. Paragraph (a): 'The label on each package of a cosmetic shall bear a declaration of the name of each ingredient in descending order of predominance, except that fragrance or flavor may be listed as fragrance or flavor.' Paragraph (f) allows an alternative: ingredients 'present at a concentration greater than 1 percent, in descending order of predominance', followed by ingredients 'present at a concentration of not more than 1 percent, without respect to order of predominance', followed by color additives 'without respect to order of predominance'. Cited for the exact limit of what an ingredient's POSITION can tell a reader: late placement indicates the 1-percent-or-less group, but within that group the order carries no information about quantity (accessed September 26, 2026)
  • Prospective, randomized, double-blind assessment of topical bakuchiol and retinol for facial photoageing (PubMed) — Dhaliwal et al., Br J Dermatol 2019 — bakuchiol 0.5% vs retinol 0.5%: comparable wrinkle/pigment improvement, retinol caused more scaling and stinging (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • Tolerance profile of retinol, retinaldehyde and retinoic acid under maximized and long-term clinical conditions (PubMed) — Retinol and retinaldehyde share a low irritation potential; retinoic acid (tretinoin) is more irritating (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • Moisturizers — StatPearls (NCBI Bookshelf) — Reference on humectants (hyaluronic acid), occlusives and emollients (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — How to pick the right moisturizer for your skin — AAD guidance by skin type, including the dermatologist quoted on the page saying 'I tell some people never put moisturizer on the center of your face' — the published statement of the zone-by-zone approach combination skin needs. It also names ceramides and hyaluronic acid as ingredients to look for, recommends creams or ointments over lotions for dry skin and a lighter gel for oily skin, and advises fragrance-free products labeled non-comedogenic (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Voorhees JJ — Clinical effects of long-term therapy with topical tretinoin and cellular mode of action (J Int Med Res, 1990) — Double-blind, placebo-controlled study: 0.1% topical tretinoin reduced the effects of photoageing maximally after 10 months, with no further improvement between 10 and 22 months. Histologically it induced 'epidermal hyperplasia, compaction of the stratum corneum and the deposition of ultrastructurally visible collagen fibrils in the papillary dermis', reduced the number and activity of melanocytes, and significantly increased mitoses (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Retinoid or retinol? — AAD on the difference between prescription retinoids and OTC retinol (accessed July 17, 2026)

Keep reading