Retinol Room.

Retinol for Acne Scars

Most of what people call acne scars are flat marks, and those do fade. A true scar is a dent or a raised ridge in the skin, and no serum fills one in. Which of the two you are looking at decides whether anything on this page can help you.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Before you buy anything, look at the marks in a mirror with light coming from the side rather than straight on. If the surface is smooth and only the color is wrong, that is very probably not a scar. The American Academy of Dermatology says it plainly: a flat spot of color left behind when acne clears usually is not an acne scar — it is most often post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, which is red or pink in lighter skin tones and brown or bluish gray in medium to deeper ones, and which usually fades on its own over time.

A real acne scar casts a shadow. It is a depression— the AAD says most people who scar develop these — or, less commonly, a raised ridge. Both are collagen problems: too little laid down while the skin healed, or too much. And the AAD is direct about the prognosis: while acne scars can fade, they rarely go away completely on their own. When a scar first appears you may see both a dent and some discoloration; over time the discoloration usually goes, and the scar remains.

That single distinction is the whole page. Retinol is a reasonable buy for the first problem and close to useless for the second. Everything below is ranked on that basis, in this order: whether the product treats the acne that is still producing new marks; whether it has published evidence behind it for texture rather than only for color; whether the formula also does pigment work of its own; and whether the strength is stated, so you can escalate deliberately instead of guessing.

We have not tested any of these on skin — we own no units and say so on our methodology page. The ranking is reasoned from published formulas, stated strengths and the dermatology literature, and every claim below traces to a source at the foot of the page.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on formulation, stated concentration and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these products — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Differin Adapalene Gel 0.1% Acne Treatment (45 g pump)

Differin Adapalene Gel 0.1% Acne Treatment (45 g pump)

The only prescription-grade retinoid you can buy off the shelf, at a stated 0.1% adapalene. If your reason for wanting retinol is acne rather than lines, this is very likely the more appropriate product — and it is regulated as a drug, with the trial evidence that implies.

Best overall
$19.19 · View on Amazon

$23.9720% off

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Encapsulated retinol with ceramides and licorice root, aimed squarely at post-acne marks and texture rather than deep wrinkles. Gentle, barrier-friendly and cheap — but the strength is unstated, so set expectations by what it's for.

Best for flat post-acne marks
$16.49 · View on Amazon

$21.9925% off

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The clearest-labeled retinol you can buy: an exact 0.5% pure retinol in a squalane base, at a price that makes 'start low and go slow' painless. For most people ready to move up from a starter strength, this is the sensible middle rung.

Best stated strength on a budget
$9.30 · View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Naturium Retinol Complex Serum

Naturium Retinol Complex Serum

Blends encapsulated retinol with bakuchiol, a plant extract with retinol-adjacent research, to soften the ramp-up. A reasonable gentle middle option — with an unstated retinol dose you're taking on trust.

Gentlest on-ramp
$14.69 · View on Amazon

$20.9930% off

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
The Ordinary Retinal 0.2% Emulsion

The Ordinary Retinal 0.2% Emulsion

The cheapest way into retinaldehyde by a wide margin, and it states its strength — a labeled 0.2% retinal in a light emulsion. Retinal is a genuinely strong rung, so the low price should not be read as a low commitment.

Best step up for texture
$14.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

The sensible middle of this category: a shea-butter body lotion with retinol in it, in a size you can actually use on arms and legs, at a price that does not make you ration it. If you want one bottle that moisturizes properly and treats quietly, this is the shape that makes sense.

Best for chest and back
$25.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Differin Adapalene Gel 0.1% Acne Treatment (45 g pump)

The only prescription-grade retinoid you can buy off the shelf, at a stated 0.1% adapalene. If your reason for wanting retinol is acne rather than lines, this is very likely the more appropriate product — and it is regulated as a drug, with the trial evidence that implies.

Strengths

  • States an exact 0.1% adapalene — a regulated over-the-counter drug, not a cosmetic
  • Backed by randomized trials against tretinoin, with comparable efficacy and better tolerability
  • 45 g pump lasts a long time at a pea-sized nightly dose

Trade-offs

  • It is an acne treatment first — the anti-aging evidence base belongs to other retinoids
  • Expect a genuine adjustment period of dryness and peeling in the first weeks
  • Not the right tool if your only concern is fine lines
Key activeAdapalene (a third-generation retinoid)
Stated concentration0.1%
FormatGel
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forAcne-prone, Oily, Normal

Formulation note. Adapalene is a synthetic retinoid that binds retinoic acid receptors directly, so unlike retinol it needs no conversion in the skin. It is sold in the US as an over-the-counter acne drug at 0.1%, which is why the strength is on the box — drug labeling requires it.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for flat post-acne marks

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Encapsulated retinol with ceramides and licorice root, aimed squarely at post-acne marks and texture rather than deep wrinkles. Gentle, barrier-friendly and cheap — but the strength is unstated, so set expectations by what it's for.

Strengths

  • Ceramides + niacinamide support the barrier while the retinol works
  • Encapsulated delivery is gentler on reactive skin
  • One of the least expensive 'real' retinol serums

Trade-offs

  • Concentration is not published
  • Marketed for marks, not deep wrinkles — set expectations accordingly
Key activeEncapsulated retinol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatFluid lotion-serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forAcne-prone, Normal, Sensitive

Formulation note. Encapsulated retinol + 3 essential ceramides + niacinamide + licorice root extract. The ceramide payload is why it stays tolerable; the retinol strength is not disclosed.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best stated strength on a budget

The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The clearest-labeled retinol you can buy: an exact 0.5% pure retinol in a squalane base, at a price that makes 'start low and go slow' painless. For most people ready to move up from a starter strength, this is the sensible middle rung.

Strengths

  • Publishes the exact strength — 0.5% — which almost no drugstore retinol does
  • Squalane base is lightly occlusive and cushions irritation
  • Sold in 0.2% / 0.5% / 1% so you can step up deliberately

Trade-offs

  • Pure retinol in an anhydrous oil — no added niacinamide or soothing actives
  • Squalane finish can feel heavy layered over other oils
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentration0.5%
FormatLightweight oil serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forNormal, Dry, Not-too-sensitive

Formulation note. Pure retinol dispersed in squalane; no water phase, so none of the pH and packaging fuss vitamin C needs. The strength is printed on the label, which is the exception in this category, not the rule.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Gentlest on-ramp

Naturium Retinol Complex Serum

Blends encapsulated retinol with bakuchiol, a plant extract with retinol-adjacent research, to soften the ramp-up. A reasonable gentle middle option — with an unstated retinol dose you're taking on trust.

Strengths

  • Bakuchiol pairing aims to reduce early irritation
  • Encapsulated retinols for a slower release
  • Inexpensive for the category

Trade-offs

  • Retinol percentage is not published
  • Bakuchiol's evidence base is smaller than retinol's — treat it as support, not a replacement
Key activeRetinol + bakuchiol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatLightweight serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forNormal, Combination, Cautious beginners

Formulation note. Encapsulated retinols + bakuchiol. Bakuchiol has a few supportive studies but a fraction of retinol's evidence; we present it as an adjunct, not an equal.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best step up for texture

The Ordinary Retinal 0.2% Emulsion

The cheapest way into retinaldehyde by a wide margin, and it states its strength — a labeled 0.2% retinal in a light emulsion. Retinal is a genuinely strong rung, so the low price should not be read as a low commitment.

Strengths

  • States an exact 0.2% retinal, which most retinal products do not
  • Dramatically cheaper than every other retinal on this page
  • Light emulsion base layers easily under a moisturizer

Trade-offs

  • 0.2% retinal is a high rung, not a starter — it is not where a beginner should begin
  • Small 0.5 fl oz bottle, so it does not last as long as the price suggests
Key activeRetinaldehyde (retinal)
Stated concentration0.2%
FormatLight emulsion
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forRetinol-experienced, Normal

Formulation note. Retinaldehyde sits one conversion step from retinoic acid, where retinol sits two. That is why a 0.2% retinal is not comparable to a 0.2% retinol — the numbers look similar and the potency is not.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best for chest and back

Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

The sensible middle of this category: a shea-butter body lotion with retinol in it, in a size you can actually use on arms and legs, at a price that does not make you ration it. If you want one bottle that moisturizes properly and treats quietly, this is the shape that makes sense.

Strengths

  • Shea butter base means it works as a real moisturizer, not just a carrier
  • 8 oz is enough to cover arms and legs regularly
  • Mid-range price per ounce for a treatment lotion

Trade-offs

  • Retinol strength is not published
  • Stock has been thinner than the rest of this list — check availability before you plan around it
Key activeRetinol (+ shea butter)
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatRich body lotion
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forDry, Normal

Formulation note. Retinol in a shea-butter body lotion base, per the listing. The emollient base is the reason it doubles as your moisturizer; the retinol figure is undisclosed, as it is across this whole category.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How we ranked these

Roundups on this site normally open by asking whether the brand publishes a strength. That question still matters here, but it comes second. On a page about scarring, the first question is whether the product is aimed at the mechanism that is actually producing your marks.

  • Does it treat the cause, not just the aftermath? The AAD’s own treatment page says that where breakouts are still present, the plan will likely begin with acne treatment, because stopping breakouts reduces inflammation and prevents new scars. A product that fades yesterday’s marks while tomorrow’s are still forming is a treadmill.
  • Is there evidence for texture, or only for color? The retinoid scarring trials that exist used adapalene and trifarotene, not cosmetic retinol. That is a real distinction, and it is what moves one product to the top of this list.
  • Does the base contribute to the marks themselves? Niacinamide and licorice root both appear in the dermatology literature on post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, so a formula carrying them is doing two jobs rather than one.
  • Is the strength stated? Fading takes months, and months of use means you will want to step up at some point. You cannot step up from a number you were never told.

One pick deliberately breaks the pattern. The Naturium body lotion is a moisturizer rather than a treatment serum, and its retinol figure is undisclosed. It is here because chest and back acne leaves marks too, and a 30 ml face serum will not cover a torso at any sensible cost. If your marks are all on your face, skip it.

What the evidence actually shows — and what it doesn’t

This is the part most roundups skip. There is real trial evidence that topical retinoids reduce atrophic acne scarring. There is almost none for over-the-counter retinol specifically, and an honest version of this page has to say so.

The strongest study is a 2018 split-face trial in 67 people with moderate or severe acne and at least ten atrophic scars, who used adapalene 0.3% with benzoyl peroxide 2.5% on one half of the face and vehicle on the other for 24 weeks. Total scar count fell 15.5% on the treated side and rose 14.4% on the untreated side— roughly a 30-point difference, a mean of 9.5 scars versus 13.3 per half face. A 2023 split-face trial of prescription trifarotene in 121 people found the same direction: a mean reduction of 5.9 atrophic scars against 2.7 on the vehicle side, with a measurable gap by week two.

Now the caveats, because they matter more than the numbers.

  • None of those studies used retinol. They used adapalene at 0.3% and trifarotene — both prescription-strength in the US. The Differin gel you can buy off a shelf is adapalene at 0.1%, a third of the trial strength. It is the closest available thing to the tested molecule, not the tested product.
  • All three trials were funded by the manufacturer. Galderma paid for every one. That does not make them wrong, and a split-face design with a vehicle control is a genuinely strong format — but you should know who paid.
  • The 0.3% adapalene study with the eye-catching numbers had no control group. It was an open-label exploratory study: investigators judged 50% of subjects improved and subjects judged more than 80% of themselves improved, which is exactly the gap you would expect when everybody knows they are being treated.
  • Much of the benefit is probably prevention. In the controlled trial the untreated side got worse. A large part of what the treated side achieved was stopping new scars forming, not filling old ones in.

The trifarotene authors put it neatly themselves: the efficacy of topical retinoids for acne is well documented, but the evidence for their use in atrophic acne scars is limited. For cosmetic retinol, the AAD’s wording is the ceiling to work from — if you have mild acne scarring, a retinoid or salicylic acid applied to the skin can make scarring less noticeable. Less noticeable. Not gone.

Which kind of mark do you have?

Worth five minutes with a mirror before you spend anything, because the answer changes what to buy — or whether to buy at all.

  • Flat and discolored. Post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation. Not a scar. Fades over time, faster with treatment. This is the one retinol is for, and our dark spots page covers the mechanism in detail.
  • Flat and white, or lighter than your skin. Hypopigmentation. Also not a scar. The AAD notes these usually fade and leave no trace, though it can take time. No retinol required.
  • Small, deep, narrow pits. Ice pick scars — the AAD calls this the most common type. Deep and narrow is the worst possible shape for a topical to reach. Procedural territory.
  • Wide, shallow, wavy dips. Rolling scars. Where a topical retinoid has the best chance of making a visible difference, and still a modest one.
  • Round or oval craters with defined edges. Boxcar scars — wider than ice pick, narrower than rolling.
  • Raised, firm, sometimes itchy or sore. Hypertrophic scars or keloids: too much collagen rather than too little, and more common in darker skin tones. Retinol does nothing useful here. These are treated with corticosteroid injections, lasers or surgery.

If you are unsure, the useful test is light. Pigment looks the same from every angle. A scar changes as you tilt your face, because what you are seeing is a shadow rather than a color.

Stop the acne first — it is the highest-yield thing on this page

The AAD lists three risk factors for scarring: deep, painful acne; a close blood relative who has or had acne scars; and picking, popping, squeezing or scratching your breakouts. You cannot change the second. You can change the other two, and doing so is worth more than any serum on this list.

Their prevention advice is to treat acne when you first notice it and keep treating it, because preventing acne prevents acne scars — treating mild acne early means the deeper breakouts that are more likely to scar never develop. The instruction on picking is unqualified: never pick, pop, scratch or squeeze, because each of those increases inflammation, and the more inflamed the skin, the more likely a scar.

That is why over-the-counter adapalene sits first here rather than a nicer cosmetic serum. It is regulated as a drug, its strength is printed on the box, and it is aimed at the breakouts still manufacturing new marks. Our full review covers what the adjustment period genuinely feels like, and our retinol for acne page covers the wider question of where retinol fits against active breakouts.

A realistic timeline

Plan in months. Both controlled scar trials ran for 24 weeks, and the trifarotene study was notable partly because it could detect any separation from vehicle as early as week two — which tells you a two-week difference was surprising enough to report.

For the flat marks the honest horizon is longer than product marketing implies. The AAD’s guidance on fading dark spots puts a spot a few shades darker than your natural skin color at six to twelve months, with deeper discoloration taking years. In acne specifically, the clinical review literature notes that the marks are often more distressing to patients than the acne was, and that acne lesions typically improve weeks before the pigmentation does. That gap is where most people wrongly conclude the routine has stopped working.

Two practical consequences. Judge a product on whether you will still be using it in April, not on what it does in three weeks — a formula you tolerate nightly beats a stronger one you abandon. And protect the ground you gain: new sun exposure and new breakouts both re-deposit the pigment you just spent months clearing. Our retinol and sunscreen guide covers how much product actually counts as a dose.

Do not over-treat marks in the name of clearing them

The failure mode on this page is specific: someone with post-acne marks buys the strongest thing on the shelf, irritates their skin, and the resulting inflammation lays down more pigment. Retinoid dermatitis can itself induce post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, and post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation affects darker skin more frequently and more severely. The way out is the same route that made the marks.

  1. Two or three nights a week for the first month. Our frequency guide has the full ramp. On this page, hold each step an extra week.
  2. Sandwich it from the first night if your skin is reactive. Moisturizer, retinoid, moisturizer — our sandwich method guide has the technique.
  3. Do not scrub. The AAD is blunt that scrubbing and strong soaps worsen acne. A scrub layered onto a retinoid routine is simply more inflammation, and inflammation is what leaves marks.
  4. Stop anything that stings every time. Tingling that settles in a minute is ordinary adjustment. A product that burns on every application is telling you something.
  5. Sunscreen every morning, without exception. Photoprotection is first-line throughout the pigmentation literature, and it is the half of the routine people quietly drop.

What we left out, and when to see a dermatologist

Vitamin C serums, exfoliating acids and “scar” gels. Reasonable products, and none of them is a retinoid, which is what this site covers. Our retinol versus vitamin C comparison sets out where the two actually differ.

Silicone sheets and pressure garments. These belong to raised scarring, which is a different problem with different treatment, and they are not retinoids.

At-home microneedling rollers. Deliberately excluded. Microneedling is on the AAD’s list of treatments for depressed scars — performed by a dermatologist, often combined with radiofrequency or platelet-rich plasma. Puncturing already-scarred skin at home, on top of a retinoid, is a way to add inflammation to a problem inflammation caused.

And the honest handoff. If your scars are indented or raised rather than flat, the treatments with real evidence are procedural: chemical peels, fillers, laser resurfacing, microneedling, radiofrequency, scar surgery and dermabrasion. The AAD notes that medical insurance does not cover the cost, so this is a budget decision as much as a medical one — which is a good reason to know, before you spend, that a cheap serum was never going to substitute for it. Deep, painful or cystic acne is also a reason to see a dermatologist now rather than after it scars. This page is general information, not medical advice.

Frequently asked questions

Does retinol get rid of acne scars?

Not the indented or raised kind. Those are collagen changes in the skin, and the AAD states that while acne scars can fade they rarely go away completely on their own. For mild scarring the AAD says a retinoid applied to the skin can make it less noticeable — less noticeable, not gone. What retinol genuinely helps with is the flat brown, red or gray marks left when acne clears, which are post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation rather than scars.

How do I know if I have acne scars or just dark marks?

Look at your skin with light coming from the side rather than straight on. A flat spot of color with a smooth surface is almost always post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, which fades over time. A scar casts a shadow — it is either a dent (ice pick, rolling or boxcar) or a raised ridge, and it changes appearance as you tilt your face, because you are seeing depth rather than color.

Is adapalene or retinol better for acne scars?

Adapalene, on the evidence available. The published trials on atrophic acne scarring used adapalene 0.3% and prescription trifarotene, not cosmetic retinol — in one 24-week split-face trial, scar counts fell 15.5% on the adapalene plus benzoyl peroxide side and rose 14.4% on the vehicle side. The over-the-counter version is adapalene 0.1%, a third of the trial strength, so treat it as the closest available product rather than the tested one. It also treats the acne that is still producing new marks, which appears to be where most of the benefit comes from.

How long does retinol take to fade post-acne marks?

Months. The AAD puts a spot a few shades darker than your natural skin color at six to twelve months to fade, with deeper discoloration taking years. Both controlled scar trials ran 24 weeks. Acne lesions themselves usually improve weeks before the pigmentation does, which is the point where people wrongly assume the product has failed.

Can retinol make acne scars worse?

It can make the marks worse, indirectly. Retinoid irritation is itself inflammation, and inflammation is what deposits post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation in the first place — so an over-aggressive ramp can hand you more of the problem you bought the product to fix. It will not deepen an existing indented scar. Use two or three nights a week to start, buffer with moisturizer, and stop anything that stings every time.

What actually works on indented acne scars?

Procedures, done by a board-certified dermatologist. The AAD lists chemical peels, fillers, laser resurfacing, microneedling, radiofrequency, platelet-rich plasma, scar surgery and dermabrasion for depressed scars, often in combination, and notes that medical insurance does not cover the cost. Different scar shapes respond to different treatments, which is why a consultation comes before a purchase.

Should I use retinol while I still have active acne?

Treat the acne first, or at least at the same time. The AAD's own scar treatment plan begins with getting breakouts under control, because stopping acne reduces inflammation and prevents new scars forming. Fading old marks while new spots keep appearing is a treadmill. Over-the-counter adapalene does both jobs at once, which is why it ranks first here.

Can I use retinol on acne scars on my back and chest?

Yes, and the practical constraint is size rather than formula. A 30 ml face serum will not cover a back at any sensible cost, so a retinol body lotion is the format that makes treating a torso affordable. Bear in mind that body-lotion bases are emollient by design and none of them publishes a retinol figure, so set expectations lower than for a face serum.

Sources

  • American Academy of Dermatology — Acne scars: OverviewAAD states that while acne scars can fade they rarely go away completely on their own; that most people develop depressed (sunken) scars; that a flat spot of color left when acne clears usually is NOT a scar but post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation; that when a scar first appears the discoloration usually goes away over time but the scar remains; and that risk is higher with deep painful acne, a close blood relative who has acne scars, and picking or squeezing breakouts (accessed August 31, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Acne scars: Signs and symptomsAAD sets out the scar types: depressed scars form when skin makes too little collagen while healing (ice pick, described as the most common type; rolling, wide and shallow; boxcar, a round or oval depression), and raised scars form when it makes too much (hypertrophic, keloid, papular), with raised scars more common in people who have darker skin tones; it also states that flat pigmented spots left when acne clears are usually not scars — post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, red or pink in lighter skin tones and brown or bluish gray in medium to darker tones, which usually fades over time (accessed August 31, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Acne scars: Diagnosis and treatmentAAD states that for MILD acne scarring a retinoid or salicylic acid applied to the skin can make scarring less noticeable, and that where acne breakouts are still present the treatment plan will likely begin with acne treatment because stopping breakouts reduces inflammation and prevents new scars; the treatments it lists for depressed scars are procedural (chemical peels, fillers, laser resurfacing, microneedling, radiofrequency, platelet-rich plasma, scar surgery, dermabrasion) and it notes medical insurance does not cover the cost (accessed August 31, 2026)
  • Dreno B, Bissonnette R, Gagne-Henley A, Barankin B, Lynde C, Kerrouche N, Tan J — Prevention and Reduction of Atrophic Acne Scars with Adapalene 0.3%/Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5% Gel (Am J Clin Dermatol, 2018)Multicenter, randomized, investigator-blinded, vehicle-controlled split-face trial in 67 subjects with moderate or severe facial acne and ten or more atrophic scars, treated daily for 24 weeks: total scar count changed by -15.5% on the treated half face versus +14.4% on the vehicle half (about a 30% difference; mean 9.5 versus 13.3 scars per half face, p < 0.0001). The authors open by noting that very few clinical trials have investigated the effect of topical acne treatment on scarring. Funded by Galderma R&D/Nestle Skin Health (accessed August 31, 2026)
  • Schleicher S, Moore A, Rafal E, et al. — Trifarotene Reduces Risk for Atrophic Acne Scars: Results from A Phase 4 Controlled Study (Dermatol Ther (Heidelb), 2023)Randomized, split-face, double-blind study of prescription trifarotene 50 micrograms/g versus vehicle once daily for 24 weeks in 121 subjects aged 17-34 with moderate-to-severe facial acne and scars present: mean absolute reduction in total atrophic scar count was -5.9 versus -2.7 (p < 0.0001), with a difference between sides as early as week 2. The authors state that while the efficacy of topical retinoids for acne is well documented, evidence for their use in atrophic acne scars is limited. Funded by Galderma (accessed August 31, 2026)
  • Loss MJ, Leung S, Chien A, Kerrouche N, Fischer AH, Kang S — Adapalene 0.3% Gel Shows Efficacy for the Treatment of Atrophic Acne Scars (Dermatol Ther (Heidelb), 2018)Phase II, single-center, OPEN-LABEL exploratory study (no control arm) of adapalene 0.3% gel in adults aged 18-50 with moderate to severe facial atrophic acne scars, applied once daily for 4 weeks then twice daily for 20 weeks: at week 24 investigators reported improvement in skin texture/atrophic scars in 50% of subjects, and subjects themselves in more than 80%. Funded by Nestle Skin Health-Galderma R&D (accessed August 31, 2026)
  • Callender VD et al. — Effects of Topical Retinoids on Acne and Post-inflammatory Hyperpigmentation in Patients with Skin of Color: A Clinical Review and Implications for Practice (Am J Clin Dermatol, 2022)Clinical review: acne is a common cause of post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, particularly in patients with skin of color, and the PIH is often more distressing to patients than the acne itself; topical retinoids have been shown to reduce hyperpigmentation in these patients and treatment should be started as early as possible unless contraindicated; novel formulations or commonly recommended moisturizers may help reduce irritation; primary acne lesions are likely to improve weeks before the PIH resolves (accessed August 27, 2026)
  • Geria AN, Lawson CN, Halder RM — Topical retinoids for pigmented skin (J Drugs Dermatol, 2011)Review: topical retinoids are in general well tolerated in pigmented skins and there is little evidence to suggest that patients with darker skin are at increased risk of irritation — but retinoid dermatitis can itself induce post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, and attempts should be made to reduce its occurrence by modifying treatment regimens (accessed August 27, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — How to fade dark spots in darker skin tonesAAD names a retinoid (retinol, tretinoin, adapalene gel or tazarotene) among the ingredients that can fade existing dark spots; advises stopping any product that burns or stings and choosing one labeled fragrance-free or for sensitive skin; recommends a tinted sunscreen containing iron oxide at SPF 30 or higher; and puts the timeline at 6 to 12 months for a spot a few shades darker than your natural skin color, with deeper discoloration taking years (accessed August 27, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — 10 tips for clearing acne in darker skin tonesAAD recommends adapalene gel 0.1%, noting the FDA has approved it (brand name Differin gel) for sale without a prescription, and that a retinoid can also prevent new breakouts; it also states that scrubbing and strong soaps worsen acne, and advises a mild cleanser that will not clog pores, applied gently with the fingertips (accessed August 27, 2026)

Keep reading