Retinol Room.

Black Friday & Cyber Monday Skincare Deals 2026

What has historically discounted in retinol and what rarely does, per product class — quoted from the retailers' and brands' own published terms, not our memory. Buy-now-or-wait guidance, our current top picks at live prices, and the promise that deals will be posted here when they go live in November.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Deal status · checked September 14, 2026

No Black Friday or Cyber Monday deals are live yet. Amazon has not announced its 2026 event dates on its consumer channels, and none of the brands we track has published 2026 terms. This page will be updated in place, with dated entries, as deals go live in November.

This page exists because most “Black Friday skincare deals” articles are written in September with the percentages filled in from imagination and the dates copied from last year. We would rather be useful and honest: below is what the retailers and brands in this category have actually put in writing about past Novembers — Amazon’s own event announcements, The Ordinary’s own Slowvember terms, Medik8’s own sale page, a dated press report on Paula’s Choice — each labeled with the year it happened. From that record we give buy-now-or-wait guidance per product class. What we will not do is tell you what a product “will be” on Black Friday, because nobody knows.

The picks in the table are the site’s current top retinols — the same winners our roundups name — with the live, dated price each is showing on Amazon today. Where Amazon is reporting a struck-through list price, the button shows it; where it is not, it does not. When Black Friday deals go live in November, they will be added to this page under their own dated heading, and the status box above will change. Until then the status box is the deal news, and it says there is none.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on formulation, stated concentration and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these products — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The clearest-labeled retinol you can buy: an exact 0.5% pure retinol in a squalane base, at a price that makes 'start low and go slow' painless. For most people ready to move up from a starter strength, this is the sensible middle rung.

Best retinol serum
$9.30 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
RoC Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Night Cream

RoC Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Night Cream

The drugstore retinol cream people actually keep re-buying — retinol delivered in a moisturizing cream base, which suits dry, mature skin that finds serums drying. A dependable, cheap nightly option.

Best retinol cream
$21.97 · View on Amazon

$29.9927% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
RoC Retinol Correxion Under Eye Cream

RoC Retinol Correxion Under Eye Cream

The reference drugstore retinol eye cream — a retinol formulation made specifically for the thinner skin around the eyes, aimed at crow's-feet and under-eye lines. Widely available and inexpensive, though the strength isn't stated.

Best retinol eye cream
$21.97 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
The Ordinary Retinol 0.2% in Squalane

The Ordinary Retinol 0.2% in Squalane

The gentlest true-retinol starting point on the shelf: a stated 0.2% in the same cushioning squalane base. If you have never used a retinoid, this is where to begin before touching anything stronger.

Best for beginners
$8.10 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
La Roche-Posay Pure Retinol Face Serum (B3 + HA)

La Roche-Posay Pure Retinol Face Serum (B3 + HA)

Pairs pure retinol with niacinamide and hyaluronic acid, so the buffering that reduces flaking is built into the formula rather than something you layer yourself. The gentlest 'serious' retinol here — for skin that dries out on plainer options.

Best for sensitive skin
$44.97 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
The Ordinary Retinal 0.2% Emulsion

The Ordinary Retinal 0.2% Emulsion

The cheapest way into retinaldehyde by a wide margin, and it states its strength — a labeled 0.2% retinal in a light emulsion. Retinal is a genuinely strong rung, so the low price should not be read as a low commitment.

Best retinal
$14.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

7
Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

The sensible middle of this category: a shea-butter body lotion with retinol in it, in a size you can actually use on arms and legs, at a price that does not make you ration it. If you want one bottle that moisturizes properly and treats quietly, this is the shape that makes sense.

Best body lotion
$25.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best retinol serum

The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane

The clearest-labeled retinol you can buy: an exact 0.5% pure retinol in a squalane base, at a price that makes 'start low and go slow' painless. For most people ready to move up from a starter strength, this is the sensible middle rung.

Strengths

  • Publishes the exact strength — 0.5% — which almost no drugstore retinol does
  • Squalane base is lightly occlusive and cushions irritation
  • Sold in 0.2% / 0.5% / 1% so you can step up deliberately

Trade-offs

  • Pure retinol in an anhydrous oil — no added niacinamide or soothing actives
  • Squalane finish can feel heavy layered over other oils
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentration0.5%
FormatLightweight oil serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forNormal, Dry, Not-too-sensitive

Formulation note. Pure retinol dispersed in squalane; no water phase, so none of the pH and packaging fuss vitamin C needs. The strength is printed on the label, which is the exception in this category, not the rule.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best retinol cream

RoC Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Night Cream

The drugstore retinol cream people actually keep re-buying — retinol delivered in a moisturizing cream base, which suits dry, mature skin that finds serums drying. A dependable, cheap nightly option.

Strengths

  • Retinol in an emollient cream is gentler for dry skin
  • Long track record and wide availability
  • Low price for a nightly retinol

Trade-offs

  • Concentration is not published
  • Contains fragrance — a consideration for reactive skin
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatRich night cream
Fragrance-freeNo
Best forDry, Mature

Formulation note. Retinol in a moisturizing cream base. Contains fragrance, so it isn't our pick for sensitive skin — the cream format is its advantage for dry skin.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best retinol eye cream

RoC Retinol Correxion Under Eye Cream

The reference drugstore retinol eye cream — a retinol formulation made specifically for the thinner skin around the eyes, aimed at crow's-feet and under-eye lines. Widely available and inexpensive, though the strength isn't stated.

Strengths

  • Formulated at an eye-appropriate strength for delicate skin
  • Long track record for the eye area specifically
  • Inexpensive and easy to find

Trade-offs

  • Retinol strength not published
  • Contains fragrance — patch-test near the eye first
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatLight eye cream
Fragrance-freeNo
Best forNormal, Mature

Formulation note. Retinol in a formula dosed for the thin skin around the eyes. Eye-area retinol is intentionally milder than face retinol; the exact figure is undisclosed.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for beginners

The Ordinary Retinol 0.2% in Squalane

The gentlest true-retinol starting point on the shelf: a stated 0.2% in the same cushioning squalane base. If you have never used a retinoid, this is where to begin before touching anything stronger.

Strengths

  • Stated 0.2% — a genuine beginner strength, plainly labeled
  • Squalane base softens the early dryness
  • About as cheap as effective retinol gets

Trade-offs

  • Too gentle to be anyone's long-term destination — you'll want to step up
  • Still pure retinol, so introduce it slowly regardless of the low number
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentration0.2%
FormatLightweight oil serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forSensitive, Beginner, Normal

Formulation note. 0.2% pure retinol in squalane — the entry rung of The Ordinary's three-strength ladder. Starting here and moving to 0.5% only once nightly use is comfortable is the textbook way to build tolerance.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for sensitive skin

La Roche-Posay Pure Retinol Face Serum (B3 + HA)

Pairs pure retinol with niacinamide and hyaluronic acid, so the buffering that reduces flaking is built into the formula rather than something you layer yourself. The gentlest 'serious' retinol here — for skin that dries out on plainer options.

Strengths

  • Niacinamide + glycerin + hyaluronic acid buffer the retinol's dryness
  • Fragrance-free, from a brand built around reactive skin
  • Well-tolerated texture that layers cleanly under moisturizer

Trade-offs

  • Does NOT publish the retinol percentage — you're trusting the brand
  • Among the pricier options for an unstated strength
Key activeRetinol
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatSilky lotion-serum
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forSensitive, Dry, Normal

Formulation note. Pure retinol + niacinamide (vitamin B3) + hyaluronic acid. The support actives are the selling point; the retinol strength itself is not disclosed, which we flag rather than guess.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best retinal

The Ordinary Retinal 0.2% Emulsion

The cheapest way into retinaldehyde by a wide margin, and it states its strength — a labeled 0.2% retinal in a light emulsion. Retinal is a genuinely strong rung, so the low price should not be read as a low commitment.

Strengths

  • States an exact 0.2% retinal, which most retinal products do not
  • Dramatically cheaper than every other retinal on this page
  • Light emulsion base layers easily under a moisturizer

Trade-offs

  • 0.2% retinal is a high rung, not a starter — it is not where a beginner should begin
  • Small 0.5 fl oz bottle, so it does not last as long as the price suggests
Key activeRetinaldehyde (retinal)
Stated concentration0.2%
FormatLight emulsion
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forRetinol-experienced, Normal

Formulation note. Retinaldehyde sits one conversion step from retinoic acid, where retinol sits two. That is why a 0.2% retinal is not comparable to a 0.2% retinol — the numbers look similar and the potency is not.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#7Best body lotion

Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion

The sensible middle of this category: a shea-butter body lotion with retinol in it, in a size you can actually use on arms and legs, at a price that does not make you ration it. If you want one bottle that moisturizes properly and treats quietly, this is the shape that makes sense.

Strengths

  • Shea butter base means it works as a real moisturizer, not just a carrier
  • 8 oz is enough to cover arms and legs regularly
  • Mid-range price per ounce for a treatment lotion

Trade-offs

  • Retinol strength is not published
  • Stock has been thinner than the rest of this list — check availability before you plan around it
Key activeRetinol (+ shea butter)
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatRich body lotion
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forDry, Normal

Formulation note. Retinol in a shea-butter body lotion base, per the listing. The emollient base is the reason it doubles as your moisturizer; the retinol figure is undisclosed, as it is across this whole category.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Retinols showing a reduction on Amazon right now

As of September 14, 2026, 14 of the 45 retinols we track carried a struck-through list price on Amazon. These are Amazon’s own reported list price and percent-off, pulled on our dated daily check — not a Black Friday deal, and not our number. Read the section below on what a list price does and does not mean before treating any of them as a bargain.

RoC Retinol Correxion Anti-Aging Wrinkle Night Serum Capsules (30 ct)

Serum · strength not published

RoC Retinol Correxion Anti-Aging Wrinkle Night Serum Capsules (30 ct)

A measured nightly dose without a premium price

$19.10 · View on Amazon

$32.9942% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkle Repair Retinol Eye Cream

Eye cream · strength not published

Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkle Repair Retinol Eye Cream

Fine lines and dark circles, everyday use

$19.99 · View on Amazon

$29.4932% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

COSRX Retinol 0.1% Cream

Cream · stated 0.1%

COSRX Retinol 0.1% Cream

A genuinely low, clearly-labeled first retinol

$18.90 · View on Amazon

$27.0030% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

PURITO Retinol + Retinal Serum for Sensitive Skin

Serum · strength not published

PURITO Retinol + Retinal Serum for Sensitive Skin

Sensitive skin that wants a real retinoid

$17.99 · View on Amazon

$25.0028% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

RoC Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Night Cream

Cream · strength not published

RoC Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Night Cream

Dry, mature skin that prefers a cream to a serum

$21.97 · View on Amazon

$29.9927% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

LilyAna Naturals Retinol Cream Moisturizer

Cream · strength not published

LilyAna Naturals Retinol Cream Moisturizer

Budget shoppers wanting a very gentle retinol cream

$21.99 · View on Amazon

$29.9927% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Paula's Choice CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment

Serum · stated 1%

Paula's Choice CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment

Experienced users stepping up to a high strength

$48.75 · View on Amazon

$65.0025% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Serum · strength not published

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Post-acne marks and texture on a budget

$16.49 · View on Amazon

$21.9925% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

CeraVe Retinol Serum with Niacinamide & Hyaluronic Acid

Serum · strength not published

CeraVe Retinol Serum with Niacinamide & Hyaluronic Acid

Fine lines and dullness on skin that wants a cushioned formula

$20.44 · View on Amazon

$24.9918% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Versed Press Restart Retinol Body Lotion

Moisturizer · strength not published

Versed Press Restart Retinol Body Lotion

Rough body texture with occasional back or chest breakouts

$17.69 · View on Amazon

$20.9916% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

CeraVe Anti-Aging Retinol Face Cream SPF 30

Moisturizer · strength not published

CeraVe Anti-Aging Retinol Face Cream SPF 30

People who want one daytime cream with SPF and a little retinol

$23.86 · View on Amazon

$27.9915% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Brickell Men's Retinol Face Moisturizer Night Cream

Moisturizer · strength not published

Brickell Men's Retinol Face Moisturizer Night Cream

Men who want a fragrance-free retinol and moisturizer in one step

$34.00 · View on Amazon

$40.0015% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

COSRX Retinol 0.3% Cream

Cream · stated 0.3%

COSRX Retinol 0.3% Cream

Stepping up once a 0.1% is comfortable nightly

$25.00 · View on Amazon

$29.0014% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion Jumbo (14 oz)

Moisturizer · strength not published

Naturium Skin-Renewing Retinol Body Lotion Jumbo (14 oz)

Treating arms, legs and chest without rationing

$40.00 · View on Amazon

$43.999% off

Price as of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Sorted by Amazon’s reported percent-off, largest first. The list rebuilds from the live price file on every deploy and empties itself if the daily check stops. Product images supplied by Amazon; prices are live and dated on each button.

When the events actually run

Amazon announces its own dates, and the last two years are a matter of record. In 2024 its Black Friday Week and Cyber Monday deal events ran from November 21 at 12:01 a.m. PST through December 2. In 2025 they ran from November 20 at 12:01 a.m. PST through December 1. Both announcements named beauty among the featured categories, and the 2024 release described new deals dropping daily through the period rather than a single day of prices. There is also an earlier event: Amazon’s Prime-member-only Prime Big Deal Days ran October 7–8 in 2025 and listed “beauty must-haves” among its categories. The 2026 dates for either event had not been announced on Amazon’s consumer channels when this page was written; we will add them here when they are.

What has historically discounted — and what rarely does

Everything below is quoted from a published record and labeled with its year. Where we could find no record for a brand or class, we say “no published record” rather than guessing. A pattern that held in 2024 and 2025 is evidence about how a brand behaves; it is not a promise about 2026.

Prestige skincare sold on Amazon: a real, repeated pattern

This is the clearest signal in the category. Amazon’s 2024 press release listed “save 30% on select luxury skincare products from Kiehl’s and Elemis,” and its 2025 preview listed “up to 30% on skincare and bodycare essentials from Kiehl’s, ELEMIS, Sol de Janeiro, and medicube.” The same tier, the same brand, two years running, from Amazon itself. Note the wording: select products and up to. It does not name a retinol, and it does not mean every Kiehl’s product. But if the recipient of our luxury gift page is getting the Kiehl’s Micro-Dose serum, Amazon’s own record says the brand has sat in its Black Friday skincare tier two years in a row.

Brand-site sales from specialist retinol brands: documented, but on their own sites

Two brands on this site have a published record of a November sale on their own storefronts. A dated Variety report (November 29, 2024) recorded that Paula’s Choice’s “entire website is currently 25% off” for Black Friday and Cyber Monday. Medik8’s own Black Friday collection page carries 2025 terms of “25% off and up to 2 free gifts,” with Crystal Retinal listed in the sale and gift cards, bundles, kits, travel sizes and accessories excluded. In both cases the record is a brand-site promotion; neither source says whether Amazon matched it. Our links go to Amazon, so treat these as a reason to compare the two storefronts in late November, not as a guarantee about the price behind our button.

The Ordinary: a discount that deliberately is not a Black Friday deal

The Ordinary’s parent company DECIEM runs “Slowvember” instead of Black Friday, and publishes the terms. For 2025: 23% off all The Ordinary, NIOD and LOopha products from November 1 through December 7, on the brands’ own websites and standalone stores only — and the sites were closed to transactions on Black Friday itself, November 28. The terms state the discount does not apply at third-party retailers, which includes Amazon. Two consequences for a buyer. First, the five The Ordinary retinoids on this site are already among the cheapest labeled retinoids you can buy, so 23% of a nine-dollar bottle is a couple of dollars — waiting for it is rarely worth a month. Second, if you do want it, you get it on theordinary.com for the whole month, not on Amazon and not on the Friday.

Drugstore retinol (CeraVe, RoC, Neutrogena, Olay, L’Oréal): reduced year-round, which is the catch

We found no brand-level Black Friday statement for any of these that we could verify, and we will not invent one. What Amazon’s 2024 release did include was “up to 30% on select skin care products from Clinique, Cetaphil, L’Occitane, and MARIO BADESCU” — so a drugstore skincare brand (Cetaphil) did feature in Amazon’s own event tier that year. The more useful fact is one our own price data shows every day: drugstore retinols on Amazon carry a struck-through list price and a percent-off figure in ordinary weeks, not just in November. The live list at the top of this section is that data. A November “deal” on a drugstore retinol therefore has to be judged against what it sold for in October, not against the list price — see the FTC section below.

Pharmacy brands (La Roche-Posay, Avène) and K-beauty (COSRX, Beauty of Joseon, PURITO, SKIN1004): no published record

We could not find a retailer or brand statement about past Black Friday pricing for these brands that met our sourcing standard, so we make no claim. Amazon’s 2025 preview did name one K-beauty brand, medicube, in its “up to 30%” skincare tier, which tells you the category is not excluded from the event; it tells you nothing about COSRX. If a published record appears, it will be added here with its source.

Buy now or wait for November, by product class

Prestige serums and capsules (Kiehl’s, Elizabeth Arden): waiting has the best-documented case. Amazon has put Kiehl’s in its 30% skincare tier two years running. If the gift is not needed before late November, note the live price now and compare it during the event. If it is needed sooner, buy it; a documented pattern is not a guarantee, and “select” may not include the bottle you want.

Specialist retinol brands (Paula’s Choice, Medik8): the record is a brand-site sale of 25% in the most recent year we could document. If you are buying in late November, check the brand’s own site against the Amazon price behind our button and take the lower. Before then, buy when you need it.

The Ordinary: do not wait for Black Friday, because the brand does not hold one. If you want the 23%, it has run for the whole of November on theordinary.com; if you are buying on Amazon, the live price is the price and it is already low.

Drugstore retinols: buy when you need them. The reductions Amazon reports on these are a year-round feature of the listings, and the live list above will show you today’s. A November price that is genuinely below the October price is worth having; a November list-price strike-through is not, on its own, information.

Anything you are stocking up on: be careful. Retinol degrades with exposure to light, air and heat, the FDA notes that no U.S. law requires a cosmetic to carry an expiration date, and a bottle opened in December and finished in June is a bottle spending six months oxidizing. A year’s supply bought at 25% off is not a saving if the last two bottles are past their best. Airtight single-dose capsules are the format that tolerates stocking up best; a dropper bottle is the one that tolerates it least.

Anything for a recipient who is pregnant or breastfeeding: no price makes it the right gift. Retinoids are avoided in both; our alternatives page has substitutes.

How to read a Black Friday skincare deal

The FTC’s Guides Against Deceptive Pricing set the standard a percent-off figure has to meet: a reduction from a former price is a genuine bargain only if that former price is “the actual, bona fide price at which the article was offered to the public on a regular basis for a reasonably substantial period of time.” Where “an artificial, inflated price was established for the purpose of enabling the subsequent offer of a large reduction,” the bargain is a false one. The guide’s own example is a $7.50 pen listed at $10 for a few days so it can be “cut” back to $7.50.

In practice, for retinol: the struck-through figure on a listing is the seller’s stated list price, and on drugstore products it is often struck through in ordinary weeks. So the question is never “how far below list is this” but “how far below what it sold for last month is this.” Our prices are dated on every button, so you can note today’s number and compare it against the event price when it arrives. Two more habits: read “up to X%” as “some items, up to X%,” and read “select products” as “possibly not the one you want.”

What will be posted here, and when

When Amazon announces its 2026 event dates, they go in the “when the events run” section above with the source. When a Black Friday or Cyber Monday reduction goes live on a retinol we track, it is added to this page under a dated “Live deals” heading, with the product, the live price from our daily check, and what it was showing in the weeks before — so you can judge it by the FTC’s standard rather than by the list price. The status box at the top of the page changes at the same time. If a deal we post ends, the entry is marked ended rather than deleted, so the record stays honest. Nothing on this page is sponsored; commission never decides what is listed, and a product we would not recommend at full price does not become a recommendation at 30% off.

Frequently asked questions

When is Amazon's Black Friday sale in 2026?

Not yet announced on Amazon's consumer channels when this page was written. For reference, Amazon's own announcements put the 2024 event at November 21 through December 2 and the 2025 event at November 20 through December 1, with new deals dropping daily. The 2026 dates will be added here, with the source, as soon as Amazon publishes them.

Does retinol go on sale for Black Friday?

Some of it, and the record is uneven. Amazon has named Kiehl's in its 30% skincare tier two years running (2024 and 2025). Paula's Choice ran 25% off its own website in 2024 and Medik8 published 25%-off terms on its own site for 2025. The Ordinary runs a 23% Slowvember on its own site instead of a Black Friday sale. Drugstore retinols show list-price reductions on Amazon year-round, which makes a November 'deal' hard to judge. Nothing here is a prediction.

Does The Ordinary do Black Friday?

No — deliberately. Its parent company DECIEM runs Slowvember instead: for 2025, 23% off The Ordinary, NIOD and LOopha from November 1 through December 7 on the brands' own websites and stores only, with the sites closed to transactions on Black Friday itself. The terms state the discount does not apply at third-party retailers, Amazon included.

Should I wait for Black Friday to buy retinol?

Depends on the class. Prestige serums have the best-documented case for waiting (Kiehl's in Amazon's tier two years running). Specialist brands like Paula's Choice and Medik8 have a record of brand-site sales, so compare their sites with Amazon in late November. The Ordinary is already cheap and does not hold a Black Friday sale. Drugstore retinols are reduced on Amazon most of the year, so buy when you need them. And do not stock up on anything in a dropper bottle — retinol degrades once opened.

How do I know a Black Friday skincare deal is real?

Judge it against what the product sold for in the weeks before, not against the struck-through list price. The FTC's pricing guides say a former-price comparison is genuine only if the former price was one the item was actually offered at on a regular basis for a substantial period; an inflated price set up to enable a 'reduction' is a false bargain. Our buttons carry a dated price, so note today's number and compare it when the event arrives.

Will you post deals on this page?

Yes. When a Black Friday or Cyber Monday reduction goes live on a retinol we track, it is added here under a dated 'Live deals' heading with the live price from our daily check and what the product was showing in the weeks before. The status box at the top of the page changes at the same time. Until then it says plainly that there are no deals, because there are none.

Is it safe to stock up on retinol during a sale?

Within reason. Retinol degrades with light, air and heat, and the FDA notes that no U.S. law requires a cosmetic to carry an expiration date, so a bottle opened in December and finished in June has spent six months oxidizing. Buy what you will use in a few months. Airtight single-dose capsules tolerate stocking up best; open dropper bottles tolerate it least.

Sources

  • Amazon (aboutamazon.com) — Amazon's Black Friday 2025: when is the shopping event?Amazon's own announcement that its 2025 Black Friday Week and Cyber Monday deals ran from November 20 at 12:01 a.m. PST through December 1, with 'millions of deals across popular categories including home, electronics, beauty, and apparel'. Cited for the dates and for beauty being a named category — it says nothing about any specific retinol (accessed September 14, 2026)
  • Amazon (aboutamazon.com) — Black Friday 2025: shop the best deals from AmazonAmazon's 2025 deal preview: 'up to 50% on select premium beauty products from Lancôme', and 'up to 30% on skincare and bodycare essentials from Kiehl's, ELEMIS, Sol de Janeiro, and medicube', for the November 20 to December 1 event. 'Up to' figures on 'select' products, as written — not a discount on any named retinol (accessed September 14, 2026)
  • Amazon press center — Unwrap millions of deals during Amazon's Black Friday Week and Cyber Monday deal events, running November 21 through December 2 (2024)Amazon's 2024 press release: the event ran November 21 at 12:01 a.m. PST through December 2; 'save 30% on select luxury skincare products from Kiehl's and Elemis'; 'save up to 30% on select skin care products from Clinique, Cetaphil, L'Occitane, and MARIO BADESCU'; 'save up to 50% on premium beauty products including Lancôme'; and 'new deals dropping daily' with 'themed daily deal drops'. The 2024 and 2025 releases name the same skincare tier (Kiehl's, at 30%) two years running, which is the only repeat pattern in this category that Amazon itself has put in writing (accessed September 14, 2026)
  • Amazon (aboutamazon.com) — Prime Big Deal Days 2025 is returning October 7-8Amazon's own announcement of its October 2025 event: 'Starting October 7 at 12:01 a.m. PDT, Prime members can shop seasonal savings', 'a Prime member-exclusive event', with 'beauty must-haves' listed among the categories. Cited for the existence and timing of the October event that precedes Black Friday; the 2026 dates had not been announced on Amazon's consumer channels when this page was written (accessed September 14, 2026)
  • The Ordinary (DECIEM) — Slowvember terms & FAQDECIEM's own terms page: Slowvember is 'a month-long promotion offering 23% off all products from The Ordinary, NIOD, and LOopha', running November 1, 2025 at 12:00 a.m. EST through December 7, 2025 at 11:59 p.m. EST, EXCLUDING November 28, 2025, when the brand websites were closed for the day; available only on theordinary.com, niod.com, loopha.com and in standalone DECIEM stores, with a limit of 5 promotionally-priced units per product. The discount does not apply at third-party retailers, Amazon included (accessed September 14, 2026)
  • Variety (via Yahoo Lifestyle) — Paula's Choice's entire website is 25% off for Black Friday (November 29, 2024)A dated press report, published November 29, 2024, that Paula's Choice's 'entire website is currently 25% off' for Black Friday and Cyber Monday. It gives no end date and does not say whether the same reduction applied at Amazon or other retailers. Cited as a record of one past year, not a prediction of this one (accessed September 14, 2026)
  • Medik8 — Black Friday & Cyber Monday collection (2025 terms)Medik8's own Black Friday collection page, whose terms for the 2025 event state '25% off and up to 2 free gifts', with Crystal Retinal products listed in the sale and the exclusions 'gift cards, Bundles, Festive Kits, travel sizes & accessories'; not combinable with reward vouchers or other codes. A brand-site promotion — whether Amazon matched it is not stated anywhere (accessed September 14, 2026)
  • U.S. Federal Trade Commission — 16 CFR 233.1, Guides Against Deceptive Pricing: former price comparisons (eCFR)The FTC's guide states that a reduction from a former price is a genuine bargain only if 'the former price is the actual, bona fide price at which the article was offered to the public on a regular basis for a reasonably substantial period of time', and that where 'an artificial, inflated price was established for the purpose of enabling the subsequent offer of a large reduction — the "bargain" being advertised is a false one'. Its own example is a $7.50 pen listed at $10 for a few days so it can be 'cut' back to $7.50. Cited as the standard a struck-through list price has to meet before a percentage-off figure means anything (accessed September 14, 2026)
  • U.S. FDA — Shelf Life and Expiration Dating of CosmeticsFDA states no U.S. law requires cosmetics to carry an expiration date, that drugs (including sunscreens and acne treatments) must, and that heat and dipping fingers into a product shorten its usable life (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Dermatologist-approved pregnancy skin careAAD lists retinoids among the products to avoid during pregnancy, naming isotretinoin, tretinoin, tazarotene and over-the-counter retinol, and suggests vitamin C and glycolic acid instead (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading